Cover Daydream Collection
Studio-Album – Chrom Compilations

Daydream Collection

Studio-Album
Released: 1996

Track list

  • THE BARONS - The falls of truth
  • PHILTRON - Somewhere between love and hate
  • CHILDREN WITHIN - Gallery (radio version)
  • LA FLOA MALDITA - Socière
  • OLIVER DEAN - Pressure drop
  • COUNTLESS DREAMS - Hunted
  • CHATEAU DE JOIE - Mendacious
  • INSIDE - November day
  • SILENCE - Shut up
  • DISTAIN! - I beg for you
  • DARK DISTANT SPACES - When I'm gone
  • U.S.S. - Standing on the grass
  • THE SECOND SIGHT - Time

The European Synth Pop Party-Sampler, featuring a fresh, self confident Synth generation from Sweden, France, Germany, Slovenia etc. Their excellent material has brought up a whole new definition of Synth Pop in 1996. The Synth Pop collection convinces without the usual showing off with “big names”, simply because of the excellent music, concept and layout.

This sampler was the breakthrough for many of the bands on it. Several samplers were inspird by our concept. It has enriched the Synth Pop scene with some surprising facettes.

Record Release Info

Chrom Records presents his first sampler with thirteen refreshing songs from the underground of the European SynthPop scene. Under the self-confident title “The Daydream Collection” a number of new names are gathering; many of the bands appear here for the first time on a release.

Daydream Collection - Chrom Records

With Oliver DEAN, the new discovery of the legendary DJ and Distain! mentor Rudi Schäble… the Slovenian TripPop surprise SILENCE… Archive footage of U.S.S. from France… the missing Maxi of the Augsburg THE BARONS… new groundbreaking sounds from DISTAIN! and INSIDE

A collection that should be of the highest interest for documentary reasons alone. But that’s not what we were interested in when we put together the “Daydream Collection”. With this sampler we wanted to tie in with a time when wave pop still had something to do with fun and indie clubs didn’t get lost in general moping. What all the songs have in common is a certain party mood with a dash of quiet melancholy that simply swept us away!

That’s what we mean by good partying: we deliberately avoided big names when selecting the material, most of which comes from our archives. In the flood of samplers that is currently flooding the market, we want to assert ourselves through quality. And the material speaks for itself: Much of what can be heard here can already count today as the “Best Of” of tomorrow’s SynthPop! Because if the sampler makes one thing clear, it is this: Here is a self-confident new SynthPop generation at work, of which there will certainly be a lot more to hear!

THE BARONS - The falls of truth

THE BARONS

Very rare: Some time ago THE BARONS had a maxi single in their own distribution, from which this title was taken. The talented musicians are currently devoting themselves to other projects and so this maxi could not become known beyond its city limits. “The Falls of Truth offers beautiful melodies. Almost reminds with a bit of melancholy of the “golden 80s” when New Wave still meant party and feelings. A highlight of the sampler, as the indie press says.

PHILTRON - Somewhere between love and hate

PHILTRON

Good EBM, not too intrusive, not too hard, good dance groove throughout and also the chorus is immediately catchy. In the meantime PHILTRON have found a label and gained some fame. “Somewhere between… “, especially with the special mix included on this compilation, is now an EBM dance floor filler.

CHILDREN WITHIN - Gallery (radio version)

CHILDREN WITHIN

Music and rythm immediately fascinate you. The mixture of Hammond organ, electronics and an immediately catchy melody characterize the song. CHILDREN WITHIN stands in the tradition of the “Swedish Synthi-Pop” and have found - perhaps also by this sampler - meanwhile a large attention in Germany. “Gallery”, especially in this “radio edit” is the best from Sweden we have heard for a long time and leaves a lot far behind.

LA FLOA MALDITA - Socière

LA FLOA MALDITA

The lascivious voice of the singer is very appealing. French charm paired with wonderfully naive melody, which, however, you immediately hum along with, and that’s what makes it so. (LFM are signed to the small fine label “Sushia L.”. The label might be known to some by the high quality “KODEX” magazine published by them.)

OLIVER DEAN - Pressure drop

OLIVER DEAN

Special mix

COUNTLESS DREAMS - Hunted

COUNTLESS DREAMS

Lost song

CHATEAU DE JOIE - Mendacious

CHATEAU DE JOIE

A classic

INSIDE - November day

INSIDE

Exclusive Special Mix

SILENCE - Shut up

SILENCE

A label classic

DISTAIN! - I beg for you

DISTAIN!

A label classic

DARK DISTANT SPACES - When I’m gone

DARK DISTANT SPACES

Exclusive

U.S.S. - Standing on the grass

U.S.S.

Exclusive

THE SECOND SIGHT - Time

THE SECOND SIGHT

Lost Song

Studio-Album
Released: 1996

Track list

  • THE BARONS - The falls of truth
  • PHILTRON - Somewhere between love and hate
  • CHILDREN WITHIN - Gallery (radio version)
  • LA FLOA MALDITA - Socière
  • OLIVER DEAN - Pressure drop
  • COUNTLESS DREAMS - Hunted
  • CHATEAU DE JOIE - Mendacious
  • INSIDE - November day
  • SILENCE - Shut up
  • DISTAIN! - I beg for you
  • DARK DISTANT SPACES - When I'm gone
  • U.S.S. - Standing on the grass
  • THE SECOND SIGHT - Time

Chrom Compilations  ... Select other artist:


Chrom Compilations
Releases at
Chrom Records:

Daydream Collection

CD 1996


Daydream Collection

Studio-Album

Eine neue selbstbewusste Generation von Bands aus Schweden, Frankreich, Deutschland, Slowenien, u.s.w. stellt sich hier 1996 mit erstklassigem Material vor. Eine spannende Entdeckungsreise durch den europäischen Underground. „Daydream“ ist ein Sampler, der ohne große Namen auskommt und allein durch sein musikalisches und gestalterisches Konzept überzeugt!

Der Sampler hat dazu beigetragen, Synth-Pop neu zu definieren. Für viele Bands auf dem Daydream-Sampler war dies der Durchbruch, und diverse Sampler („Offbeat“, „Orkus“, „October“, „SPV“, u.v.a.) haben sich durch unser Konzept inspirieren lassen, worauf wir schon ein wenig stolz sind.

  • THE BARONS
    THE BARONS
  • PHILTRON
    PHILTRON
  • CHILDREN WITHIN
    CHILDREN WITHIN
  • LA FLOA MALDITA
    LA FLOA MALDITA
  • OLIVER DEAN
    OLIVER DEAN
  • COUNTLESS DREAMS
    COUNTLESS DREAMS
  • CHATEAU DE JOIE
    CHATEAU DE JOIE
  • INSIDE
    INSIDE
  • SILENCE
    SILENCE
  • DISTAIN!
    DISTAIN!
  • DARK DISTANT SPACES
    DARK DISTANT SPACES
  • U.S.S.
    U.S.S.
  • THE SECOND SIGHT
    THE SECOND SIGHT

Record Release Info

Mit dreizehn erfrischenden Songs aus dem Underground der Europäischen SynthPop-Szene präsentiert Chrom Records seinen ersten Sampler. Unter dem selbstbewußten Titel „The Daydream Collection“ versammeln sich eine Reihe neuer Namen; viele der Bands erscheinen hier das erste Mal auf einer Veröffentlichung.

Daydream Collection - Chrom Records

Mit dabei ist Oliver DEAN, die neue Entdeckung des legendären DJs und Distain!-Mentors Rudi Schäble… die slowenische TripPop-Überraschung SILENCE… Archivmaterial von U.S.S. aus Frankreich… die verschollene Maxi der Augsburger THE BARONS… neue wegweisende Klänge von DISTAIN! und INSIDE

Eine Sammlung, die allein schon aus dokumentarischen Gründen von höchstem Interesse sein dürfte. Doch darum ging es uns bei der Zusammenstellung der „Daydream Collection“ nicht. Wir wollten mit diesem Sampler an eine Zeit anknüpfen, als Wave-Pop noch etwas mit Spaß zu tun hatte und Indie-Clubs nicht in allgemeinem Trübsal untergingen. Allen Songs gemeinsam ist daher eine gewisse Partystimmung mit einem Schuss leiser Melancholie, die uns einfach mitgerissen hat!

Das verstehen wir unter guter Party: Bei der Auswahl des Materials, das größtenteils aus dem Fundus unserer Archive stammt, haben wir bewusst auf große Namen verzichtet. In der Samplerflut, die im Moment den Markt überschwemmt, möchten wir uns durch Qualität behaupten. Und das Material spricht für sich: Vieles, was hier zu hören ist, kann schon heute zum „Best Of“ des SynthPops von morgen zählen! Denn wenn der Sampler eines deutlich macht, dann dies: Hier ist eine selbstbewußte neue SynthPop-Generation am Werk, von der sicherlich noch einiges zu hören sein wird!

THE BARONS - The falls of truth

THE BARONS

Sehr rar: Von THE BARONS gab es vor einiger Zeit mal eine Maxi im Eigenvertrieb, von der dieser Titel entnommen wurde. Die begabten Musiker widmen sich zur Zeit anderen Projekten und so hat diese Maxi nicht über ihre Stadtgrenzen hinaus bekannt werden können. „The Falls of truth bietet wunderschöne Melodien. Erinnert fast mit ein bischen Wehmut an die „goldenen 80er“ als New Wave noch Party und Gefühle bedeuteten. Ein Highlight des Samplers, wie auch die Indie-Presse meint.

PHILTRON - Somewhere between love and hate

PHILTRON

Guter EBM, nicht zu aufdringlich, nicht zu hart, durchgehend guter Dance-Groove und auch der Refrain geht sofort ins Ohr. Inzwischen haben PHILTRON ein Label gefunden und einige Bekanntheit erlangt. „Somewhere between… „, speziell mit dem auf dieser Compilation enthaltenen Special-Mix, ist mittlerweile ein EBM-Tanzflächen-Füller.

CHILDREN WITHIN - Gallery (radio version)

CHILDREN WITHIN

Musik und Rythmus ziehen einen sofort in den Bann. Die Mischung aus Hammond-Orgel, Elektronik und einer sofort ins Ohr gehenden Melodie zeichnen den Song aus. CHILDREN WITHIN steht in der Tradition des „Schwedischen Synthi-Pop“ und haben - vielleicht auch durch diesen Sampler - inzwischen eine große Beachtung in Deutschland gefunden. „Gallery“, speziell in dieser „radio edit“ ist das Beste aus Schweden, was wir seit langem gehört haben und läßt vieles dort weit hinter sich.

LA FLOA MALDITA - Socière

LA FLOA MALDITA

Sehr ansprechend ist die laszive Stimme der Sängerin. Französicher Charme gepaart mit herrlich naiver Melodie, die man aber, und das macht es aus, sofort mitsummt. (LFM sind bei dem kleinen feinen Label „Sushia L.“ unter Vertrag. Das Label dürfte einigen bekannt sein durch das von ihnen herausgegebene qualitativ hochwertige „KODEX“ Magazin.)

OLIVER DEAN - Pressure drop

OLIVER DEAN

Special mix

COUNTLESS DREAMS - Hunted

COUNTLESS DREAMS

Verschollener Song

CHATEAU DE JOIE - Mendacious

CHATEAU DE JOIE

Klassiker

INSIDE - November day

INSIDE

Exklusive Special Mix

SILENCE - Shut up

SILENCE

Klassiker des Labels

DISTAIN! - I beg for you

DISTAIN!

Klassiker des Labels

DARK DISTANT SPACES - When I’m gone

DARK DISTANT SPACES

Exklusiv

U.S.S. - Standing on the grass

U.S.S.

Exklusiv

THE SECOND SIGHT - Time

THE SECOND SIGHT

Verschollener Song

Titel-Liste

  • THE BARONS - The falls of truth
  • PHILTRON - Somewhere between love and hate
  • CHILDREN WITHIN - Gallery (radio version)
  • LA FLOA MALDITA - Socière
  • OLIVER DEAN - Pressure drop
  • COUNTLESS DREAMS - Hunted
  • CHATEAU DE JOIE - Mendacious
  • INSIDE - November day
  • SILENCE - Shut up
  • DISTAIN! - I beg for you
  • DARK DISTANT SPACES - When I'm gone
  • U.S.S. - Standing on the grass
  • THE SECOND SIGHT - Time

Chrom Compilations   Auswahl: Künstler


Veröffentlichungen:

  Top