Release Information 1996

Deine Lakaien: Winter Fish Testosterone

Studio-Album

The release of a studio album by DEINE LAKAIEN is a rare event. It’s been more than two years since their successful “Forest Enter Exit” release. Now, with “Winter Fish Testosterone”, the duo presents a new album, which again is without comparison in pop music. Their new album again proves their autonomy, which allows them to go their very own way, regardless of short-lived trends.

On “Winter Fish Testosterone”, the strength of this seemingly so dissimilar duo becomes more obvious than ever before: The joy in experimenting and the supreme craft of educated drummer, piano player and conductor Ernst Horn from München, and the charismatic, exceptional voice of Macedonia-born Alexander Veljanov (Berlin) create an unconventional harmony, which made them the unassailable top band in the German independent scene.

But DEINE LAKAIEN don’t make things too easy for their listeners. Already their “Acoustic” album, which contained completely re-arranged live piano versions of their electronic hits, stunned their fans as well as the media. On “Winter Fish Testosterone” they again break down auditory habits and clearly point out the characteristic of all Lakaien releases, which is to do the unexpected just in the right moment.

The weird title “Winter Fish Testosterone” is a combination of three songtitles exemplary for the different moods on the album. As well as one will feel “Winter” - same with “Away” and “As it is” - to be “typical” Lakaien-like melancholic and introverted, “Testosterone” is a strictly hard, cynical summer-song on street violence. “Fish” on the other hand shows DEINE LAKAIEN from a more unusual, humorous and comical side.

As always with DEINE LAKAIEN, musical styles are secondary to the contents of the lyrics. Alternative song structures and polished sounds show the great love for details which is at work in all songs.

Deine Lakaien - Winter Fish Testosterone

DEINE LAKAIEN exist for ten years now. Meanwhile, they epitomize innovative use of modern electronics and original sound creation.


Track list:
  • My Winter
  • Fighting the green
  • Cupid's disease
  • Away
  • The cabin door
  • Fish
  • Carriage song
  • Testosterone
  • Manastir baroue
  • As it is
  • My spring

  Top

Release Information 1996

Deine Lakaien: Winter Fish Testosterone

Studio-Album

Die Veröffentlichung eines Studioalbums von DEINE LAKAIEN ist ein seltenes Ereignis. Mehr als zwei Jahre sind seit Erscheinen des erfolgreichen „Forest Enter Exit“ vergangen, doch nun legt das Duo mit „Winter - Fish - Testosterone“ eine neue Produktion vor, die einmal mehr ohne Vergleiche in der Popmusik dasteht. Mit dem neuen Album beweisen Deine Lakaien erneut eine Eigenständigkeit, die es ihnen erlaubt, fernab von kurzlebigen Trends ihren Weg zu verfolgen.

Deutlicher als bei allen bisherigen Arbeiten kommen auf „Winter - Fish - Testosterone“ die Stärken des auf den ersten Blick ungleichen Paares zum Tragen: Die Experimentierlust und das souveräne Handwerk des studierten Schlagzeugers, Pianisten und Dirigenten Ernst Horn aus München und die unverwechselbar charismatische Ausnahmestimme des Mazedoniers Alexander Veljanov (Berlin) mit ihrer starken Identifikationskraft ergeben eine eigenwillige Harmonie, die sie zur unangefochtenen Spitzenband der Deutschen Independent-Szene gemacht hat.

Doch DEINE LAKAIEN machen es ihrem Publikum nicht einfach. Schon mit dem „Acoustic“-Album, das als live-Mitschnitt komplett neuarrangierte Piano-Versionen ihrer Elektronikhits enthielt, überraschte die Band Publikum wie staunende Fachpresse. Auch mit „Winter - Fish - Testosterone“ untergräbt das Duo eingefahrene Hörgewohnheiten und unterstreicht noch einmal deutlich den Wesenszug aller Lakaien Veröffentlichungen, der darin liegt, im richtigen Moment das zu tun, was keiner erwartet.

Der eigentümliche Titel „Winter - Fish - Testosterone“ setzt sich aus drei Songtiteln zusammen, die exemplarisch für die unterschiedlichen Stimmungen auf dem vorliegenden Album stehen. Wird man „Winter“ wohl - wie sicher auch „Away“ und „As it is“ - als „Lakaien-typisch“ melancholisch, introvertiert empfinden, so ist mit „Testosterone“ ein kompromißlos harter, zynischer Sommersong über Straßengewalt entstanden. „Fish“ dagegen zeigt - wie auch „Cupid’s Disease“ - DEINE LAKAIEN von einer ungewohnt humorig - skurilen Seite.

Wie immer bei DEINE LAKAIEN ordnen sich musikalische Stile dem Inhalt der Lyrics unter. Alternative Songstrukturen und ausgetüftelte Sounds zeigen eine große Liebe zum Detail, mit dem an allen Stücken gearbeitet wurde.

Deine Lakaien - Winter Fish Testosterone
Deine Lakaien bestehen seit nunmehr 10 Jahren. Sie sind mittlerweile zum Inbegriff für moderne Elektronik und originäre Klangerzeugung geworden.


Titel-Liste:
  • My Winter
  • Fighting the green
  • Cupid's disease
  • Away
  • The cabin door
  • Fish
  • Carriage song
  • Testosterone
  • Manastir baroue
  • As it is
  • My spring

  Top