Release Information 1995

Distain!: Cement Garden

Studio-Album

Already two years before recording their first album, DISTAIN! - the young band around singer Alexander Braun and keyboarders Oliver Faig and Sebastian von Wyschetzki - were well-known in the Augsburg music scene.

It was their love for the synth pop baands of the 80ies, that first evoked the three Augsburg boys’ interest in synthesizers and samplers. Out of this “spleen”, they started making their own music, and, in 1991, founded DISTAIN!

Their first self-produced demo tape became a surprising success in local clubs, got airplay on local radio stations, and was immediately sold-out.

When meeting Rudi Schäble (talent scout of Chrom Records), surprisingly quick they got their first record deal.

When you heard their romantic and melancholic songs with their strong melodies, all this attention will not surprise you. Many of the just released songs were written in quite young ages, that’s why they have this charming, fresh and “naive” appeal. Musical development is an important point for DISTAIN!, but still they won’t deny their own roots - for example Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode and Human League. Between sensitively-sung melodies and progressive analogue sounds, they seek and find their own way.


Track list:
  • World of Stone
  • Strange Affection
  • Better Life
  • Dance in Heaven
  • Confession
  • It's Over, Slave
  • Soldiers
  • Piano Song (unplugged)
  • Shadows of the Past
  • Science Can't be Crime

  Top

Release Information 1995

Distain!: Cement Garden

Studio-Album

DISTAIN! - die junge Band und Hoffnungsträger um Sänger Alexander Braun, und den Keyboardern Oliver Faig und Sebastian v. Wyschetzki - in der Augsburger Szene bereits seit zwei Jahren ein fester Begriff.

Zuerst war es die euphorische Begeisterung für die Synthi-Pop Bands der ´80er, die das Interesse der drei Augsburger an Synthesizern und Samplern weckte. Aus dem gemeinsamen Spleen heraus fingen sie an, selbst Musik zu machen und gründeten 1991 DISTAIN!

Ihr erstes selbstproduziertes Demo-Tape, das in lokalen Diskotheken ein Überraschungserfolg wurde, lief aufgrund der positiven Reaktionen auch auf örtlichen Radiosendern und war sofort vergriffen.

Durch ihrem Mentor Rudi Schäble (Szenekenner und Talentscout für Chrom Records) erhielten sie überraschend schnell ihren ersten Plattenvertrag.

Mit Recht hat das Trio für ihre romantisch-melancholischen Songs mit starken Melodien diese Beachtung verdient. Da viele der nun veröffentlichten Lieder bereits in jungen Jahren geschrieben wurden, bestechen sie durch einen erfrischend-naiven Charme. DISTAIN! legen viel Wert auf musikalische Weiterentwicklung, leugnen trotzdem ihre Wurzeln, die bei Gruppen wie z.B. Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode und Human League liegen, nicht. In einer Melange aus einfühlsam gesungenen Melodien und progressiven analogen Sounds suchen und finden sie ihren eigenen Weg.


Titel-Liste:
  • World of Stone
  • Strange Affection
  • Better Life
  • Dance in Heaven
  • Confession
  • It's Over, Slave
  • Soldiers
  • Piano Song (unplugged)
  • Shadows of the Past
  • Science Can't be Crime

  Top