Release Information 1998

Distain!: Homesick Alien

Studio-Album

“The journey is the reward” - in that respect, one could describe the musical career of DISTAIN!

Always on the search for new sounds, they try new paths, to find new, contemporary homes. Released in 1995, their debut album “Cement Garden” immediately gave the young band a great start in the world of electronic music. The following album “li:quid”, 1996, stabilized DISTAIN!’s reputation as pioneers of the new German Electro-Pop scene and saw enthusiastic reactions. Already at that time, DISTAIN! showed their typical playfulness, for example when not only covering, but totally re-inventing Nirvana’s “Smells like Teen Spirit”.

On their third album “Homesick Alien”, Alexander Braun (voc), Oliver Faig (keys) and Sebastian von Wyschetzki undertake an adventurous discovery mission, an excursion into the very own substance and vision of a band. A trip through the own creativity.

Distain 1998

“Homesick Alien” is characterized by cool, electronic beats, and decent but distinct voices, which overall create a very spheric and mysterious mood. On contrast to the debut “Cement Garden”, which came along very 80es-oriented and pop-like, on this album DISTAIN! have opened themselves up to dancefloor influences, which gives a unique fusion with their well-known style. The outcome are songs like “Promises” and “Tears of Joy”, beautiful pearls and dancefloor-smashers at the same time, but also dreamy cyber-ballads like “Sincerity” and “Row your boat”.

It demands high standards, if you want to avoid becoming superficial when dealing with the dangers and temptations which get all of us from time to time. In connection with the term “Synth-Pop”, these standards are even more difficult to fulfill - one could think. But DISTAIN! do manage to overcome these problems. The guys from south Germany are miles far away from the superficial Synth-cliché, without getting artificial “wannabes”. They simply let the songs flow - Where to? How can DISTAIN! know. They are floating right on the stream of life, not against it. Dare to dive into the electronic rapids and enjoy the journey…


Track list:
  • Promises
  • Coming Down
  • Don't Look Back
  • Hanging On
  • Sincerity
  • Tears Of Joy
  • Alien Atmosphere
  • Shadows Of Myself
  • Row Your Boat
  • Daily Routine
  • Pornogirl
  • Goddess Of Spring

  Top

Release Information 1998

Distain!: Homesick Alien

Studio-Album

»Der Weg ist das Ziel« - so könnte man die musikalische Laufbahn von DISTAIN! beschreiben.

Immer auf der Suche nach neuen Sounds beschreiten sie unentdeckte Pfade, um hier (kurzfristig) eine Heimat zu finden. Das Debütalbum »Cement Garden« erschien 1995 und bescherte der jungen Band einen Traumstart in die Welt der elektronischen Klangerzeugung. »[li:quíd]« hieß der Nachfolger 1996 und festigte den Ruf von DISTAIN! als Wegbereiter der neuen deutschen Elektro-Pop Szene, die wiederum begeistert reagierte. Auch zu dieser Zeit zeigte DISTAIN! schon Experimentierfreude, indem sie Nirvanas »Smells like teen spirit« auf ihre Art und Weise völlig neu interpretierten und definierten.

Mit dem dritten Album »Homesick Alien« wagen Alexander Braun (Voc), Oliver Faig (Keyb) und Sebastian von Wyschetzki (Keyb, Voc) eine Entdeckungsreise, eine Exkursion in die Substanz und Visionen einer Band. Ein Trip durch die eigene Kreativität.

Distain 1998

»Homesick Alien« besticht durch coole, elektronische Beats, die durch den zarten, aber eindringlichen Gesang eine sehr sphärische und geheimnisvolle Stimmung erzeugen. Im Gegensatz zum Debüt, das poppig und 80er-orientiert aufwartete, hat man sich dem Modernen geöffnet und keine Angst vor deutlich hörbaren Dance-Einflüssen, die sich mit den DISTAIN!-eigenen Ideen wundervoll ergänzen. So reifen Songs wie »Promises« und »Tears of Joy« zu anspruchsvollen Perlen, die auch die Tanzflächenkompatibilität nicht vergessen. - Aber auch träumen kann der Hörer bei DISTAIN!. Eingeladen wird hierzu bei Cyber-Balladen wie »Sincerity« und »Row your boat«.

Es ist ein hoher Anspruch, sich nicht auf oberflächliche Weise mit den Gefahren und Verlockungen des Lebens auseinanderzusetzen, die uns alle immer wieder einfangen, auch wenn wir uns noch so sehr dagegen wehren. Bringt man dies in Zusammenhang mit dem Begriff »Synth-Pop«, ist dieser Anspruch noch schwerer zu erfüllen, so könnte man meinen. DISTAIN! schaffen es, diese Diskrepanz zu überwinden. Die Augsburger sind meilenweit entfernt vom seichten Synth-Klischee, ohne dabei bemüht zu wirken. Sie lassen sich einfach treiben - Wohin? DISTAIN! wissen es nicht. Denn sie schwimmen mittendrin: mit dem Strom des Lebens, nicht gegen ihn. - Taucht ein in diese elektronischen Stromschnellen und genießt die Reise….


Titel-Liste:
  • Promises
  • Coming Down
  • Don't Look Back
  • Hanging On
  • Sincerity
  • Tears Of Joy
  • Alien Atmosphere
  • Shadows Of Myself
  • Row Your Boat
  • Daily Routine
  • Pornogirl
  • Goddess Of Spring

  Top