Release Information 1999

Distain!: Tears of Joy

Maxi

If you found yourself having motivational problems in removing the CD from the player, whilst listening to DIStAIN!‘s last album ”Homesick Alien”(1998) - then things have just got worse! The trios‘ ”Tears Of Joy Remix e.p.” shows that despite the high expectations caused by interplanetary visitation, they have honed their composing skills to perfection.

Alexander Braun, Sebastian von Wyschetzki, and Oliver Faig have used their time to write two new songs, sign up a new producer, and almost by accident met up with a man who ended up doing two mixes for the e.p. The man is non other than Gareth Jones whose producing skills have been enjoyed by artists over the last two decades (Depeche Mode, Erasure, Einstürzende Neubauten, Philip Boa and Diamanda Galas - to name but a few…) His contributions to the e.p. are the fat and raw ”Club Mix #1” and the hypnotically experimental ”Chill Out Mix“.

DISTAIN! put their faith in Peter Gorski to produce the ”Radio Edit“ despite the fact that he was relatively unknown in the scene. The decision paid off as Peter contributed not only the massive opener, but also co-produced with DISTAIN! both the new and unreleased tracks ”She‘s Gone“ and ”No Excuse“.

”She‘s Gone“ bridges the ”lost generation“ feeling with the fact that dancing frees your soul. While ”No Excuses“ nurgles itself into your mind in a way that will make people say that it is DISTAINS! best song yet.

The future rolls out the red carpet. DISTAIN! are on the way!


Track list:
  • Tears Of Joy (Radio Mix)
  • Tears Of Joy (Gareth Jones Club Mix #1)
  • She's Gone
  • No Excuse
  • Tears Of Joy (Gareth Jones Chill Out Mix)

  Top

Release Information 1999

Distain!: Tears of Joy

Maxi

Sah man sich beim Anhören des letzten DISTAIN! Albums „Homesick Alien“ (1998) bereits außerstande, die CD aus dem Player zu nehmen, so hat sich das Trio auf seiner „Tears Of Joy Remix e.p.“ bis zur kompositorischen Perfektion gesteigert. War gar nicht so einfach, schließlich sind die Erwartungen nach dem Ausflug in außerirdische Alien-Welten extrem in die Höhe gestiegen.

Alexander Braun, Sebastian von Wyschetzki und Oliver Faig haben sich Zeit gelassen, zwei neue Songs geschrieben, einen neuen Produzenten in ihre Arbeit eingebunden und eher per Zufall die Bekanntschaft eines Mannes gemacht, der die „Tears Of Joy Remix e.p.“ gleich mit zwei Mixen bestückte. Die Rede ist von Gareth Jones, der die letzten beiden Jahrzehnte als Produzent (u.a. Depeche Mode, Erasure, Einstürzende Neubauten und Phillip Boa sowie Diamanda Galas) entscheidend mitgeprägt hat. Herausgesprungen aus dieser Bekanntschaft, die im Internet schnell vertieft werden konnte, sind der kratzig-fette „Club Mix #1“ und der experimentell-hypnotische „Chill Out Mix“.

Zur Anfertigung des „Radio Edit“ vertrauten sich DISTAIN! einem in der Szene bislang völlig unbekannten Produzenten an. Eine Entscheidung, die sich bezahlt machte, denn Peter Gorski zeigt sich auf der „Tears Of Joy Remix e.p.“ nicht nur für den druckvollen Opener verantwortlich, er produzierte im Anschluß daran auch zusammen mit Distain! die beiden neuen und bislang unveröffentlichten Tracks „She’s Gone“ und „No Excuse“.

Verbindet „She’s Gone“ den Charakter der „lost generation“ mit dem Wissen, daß Tanzen die Seele befreit, gräbt sich „No Excuse“ derart tief unter die Haut, daß manch einer vom besten Song sprechen wird, den die 1995 gegründeten DISTAIN! bislang veröffentlicht haben.

Die Zukunft rollt den roten Teppich aus. DISTAIN! sind auf dem Weg!


Titel-Liste:
  • Tears Of Joy (Radio Mix)
  • Tears Of Joy (Gareth Jones Club Mix #1)
  • She's Gone
  • No Excuse
  • Tears Of Joy (Gareth Jones Chill Out Mix)

  Top