Release Information 2003

Ernst Horn: Lili Marleen, Baghdad, 02’91

Studio-Album

translation www.deepl.com

This CD is the documentation of a live performance at the “digital-analog”-Festival on 31.10.2002 in Munich: Themes from a previous production by Ernst Horn, “The Skies over Baghdad” (1991) were taken up again and reinterpreted and continued with regard to current “events”.

From the program of the world premiere:

During the Gulf War, an air-raid shelter was accidentally bombed. There were reports of about 400 deaths, all civilians.

There were hardly any documents, no last-minute reports of children rescued by death-defying firefighters, of fathers looking for their relatives, no reports of the survivors and their traumatizations. From the departure of the Iraqis from Kuwait, only an unmanageable number of army and civilian vehicles were seen, no victims. In military circles people talked about “Turkey-Shooting”.

In general, Western man is considered an individual, the rest of the world is mass, differentiated according to skin colour. Images of individual fates, such as napalm-burned children in Vietnam, are therefore a major problem for politicians and the military, and are, if possible, prevented.

Our music performance tries to focus on a single person, a soldier’s bride, a kind of “Lili Marleen”, who longs for her beloved in melancholy songs. The texts in old Portuguese are juxtaposed with quotations from George Bush Sr. on the Gulf War and George Bush Jr. as well as government spokesman Ari Fleisher on the subject of “Saddam”. Some quotations from the Old High German “Hildebrantslied” describe the struggle of father and son.

Poems used:

Ondas domar de Vigo, Martim Codex, Guerra Junquiero: Regresso ao lar.

Ernst Horn, October 2002


Sabine Lutzenberger studied singing at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, specializing in early music. In addition to many years as a singer of the “Ensemble frühe Musik Ausgsburg”, she is a member of the Italian ensemble “Mala Punica” and the Belgian vocal group “Huelgas Ensemble”. With Ernst Horn she is involved in the project “Helium Vola”, which combines medieval poetry with electronics.

Ernst Horn is mainly known as a keyboarder and producer of the band “Deine Lakaien”. The trained drummer, pianist and conductor has also produced numerous radio plays, theatre music, the medieval electronic projects “Helium Vola” and “Qntal” and three solo albums.

Lili Marleen, Baghdad, 02’91 - PR


Track list:
  • Lili Marleen Baghdad Feb.91" (29:30 min)
  Top

Release Information 2003

Ernst Horn: Lili Marleen, Baghdad, 02’91

Studio-Album

Die vorliegende CD ist die Dokumentation eines Live-Auftritts im Rahmen des »digital- analog«-Festivals am 31.10.2002 in München: Es wurden hier Themen aus einer früheren Produktion von Ernst Horn, „The Skies over Baghdad“ (1991) erneut aufgegriffen und, im Hinblick auf aktuelle „Ereignisse“, neu interpretiert und weitergeführt.

Aus dem Programm der Uraufführung:

Während des Golfkrieges wurde versehentlich ein Luftschutzbunker bombardiert. Man sprach von ungefähr 400 Todesopfern, alles Zivilisten.

Es gab darüber kaum Dokumente, keine Berichte von, in letzter Minute, durch todesmuti- ge Feuerwehrleute geretteten Kindern, von Vätern, auf der Suche nach ihren Angehörigen, keine Berichte über die Überlebenden und ihre Traumatisierungen. Vom Abzug der Irakis aus Kuweit sah man nur eine unüberschaubare Menge an zerschossenen Armee- und Zivilfahrzeugen, keine Opfer. In Militärkreisen redete man von „Turkey-Shooting“.

Im allgemeinen gilt der westliche Mensch als Individuum, der Rest der Welt ist, nach Hautfarbe differenzierte, Masse. Bilder von Einzelschicksalen, wie napalmverbrannte Kinder in Vietnam, sind für Politiker und Militärs daher ein großes Problem, und werden, nach Möglichkeit, verhindert.

Unsere Musikperformance versucht, eine einzelne Person in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen, eine Soldatenbraut, eine Art „Lili Marleen“, die in schwermütigen Liedern ihren Liebsten herbeisehnt. Den Texten in altportugiesischer Sprache werden Zitate von George Bush sen. zum Golfkrieg und George Bush jun., sowie Regierungssprecher Ari Fleisher zum Thema „Saddam“ gegenübergestellt. Einige Zitate aus dem althochdeutschen „Hildebrantslied“ beschreiben den Kampf von Vater und Sohn.

Verwendete Gedichte:
Ondas domar de Vigo, Martim Codex, Guerra Junquiero: Regresso ao lar.

Ernst Horn, Oktober 2002


Sabine Lutzenberger studierte Gesang, mit Schwerpunkt Alte Musik, an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. Neben langjähriger Tätigkeit als Sängerin des „Ensemble frühe Musik Ausgsburg“, ist sie Mitglied des italienischen Ensembles „Mala Punica“ und der belgischen Vokalgruppe „Huelgas Ensemble“. Mit Ernst Horn ist sie am Projekt „Helium Vola“, das mittelalterliche Lyrik mit Elektronik verbindet, beteiligt.

Ernst Horn ist hauptsächlich als Keyboarder und Produzent der Band „Deine Lakaien“ bekannt. Der ausgebildete Schlagzeuger, Pianist und Dirigent hat darüberhinaus zahlreiche Hörspiele, Theatermusiken, die Mittelalter-Elektronikprojekte „Helium Vola“ und „Qntal“ und drei Soloalben produziert.

Lili Marleen, Baghdad, 02’91 - PR


Titel-Liste:
  • Lili Marleen Baghdad Feb.91" (29:30 min)

  Top