Michael Popp: Notes on the Production
Estampie »Crusaders«

Michael Popp, ESTAMPIE 1996 - Foto StichnothFor quite a while we had been considering the idea of an album about the medieval crusades. But our intention was not to just release another collection of medieval music on this motif, but to try to reconstruct by means of music and atmosphere what a crusade meant to medieval people, focusing on emotional aspects rather than on intellectual or moral questions.

During the whole process of planning and production, our intention of handling the crusade topic in an atmospheric way was more important to us than what might be considered “historically correct”, the so-called “authentic” methods of performance. Still, everyone at ESTAMPIE agreed that the basis we should not leave was the medieval music; therefore, we only used historic instruments - although sometimes in a rather unconventional way.

Looking for an appropriate singer of the male parts, whilst Syrah was to sing the female part, we realized what stylistic difficulties there were. The first time I heard the voice of Alexander Veljanov, singer of the Dark Wave-Band Deine Lakaien, I felt that his warm and expressive voice came much closer to what I thought a medieval troubadour probably sounded like, than many of the classical educated singers in Old Music

Later, when I also became a musician at Deine Lakaien, I had the chance to introduce our crusaders project to Alexander. Right from the very first rehearsals on, everyone realized that his and Syrah´s voice were goint together perfectly - this feeling, that things went just perfect, lasted until we had finished the final recordings.


ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Foto Fred Stichnoth
  Top

Michael Popp: Anmerkungen zur Produktion
Estampie »Crusaders«

Michael Popp, ESTAMPIE 1996 - Foto StichnothDie Idee, eine CD über die Kreuzzüge zu veröffentlichen, schwirrte schon seit einiger Zeit durch unsere Köpfe, doch wollten wir nicht nur eine weitere Sammlung mittelalterlicher Musik zu diesem Thema erstellen, sondern den Versuch wagen, musikalisch-atmosphärisch nachzuzeichnen, was ein Kreuzzug für einen Menschen im Mittelalter in geistig-moralischer und vor allem gefühlsmäßiger Hinsicht bedeutet haben mag.

Der Versuch, das Kreuzzugsthema vor allem atmosphärisch zu erfassen, hatte während der gesamten Planungs- und Produktionsphase Vorrang vor der historischen, sogenannten „authentischen“ Aufführungspraxis. Trotzdem bestand Übereinkunft innerhalb von ESTAMPIE, grundsätzlich die Klangwelt der Mittelaltermusik nicht zu verlassen, es wurden also nur historische Instrumente verwendet, wenn auch nicht immer in gewohnter Weise.

Bei der Überlegung, wer den männlichen Gesangspart neben Syrah übernehmen sollte, machte sich die stilistische Problematik deutlich bemerkbar. Als ich zum ersten Mal die Stimme von Alexander Veljanov in der Dark-Wave-Band Deine Lakaien hörte, dämmerte mir, daß sie in ihrer Wärme und Ausdrucksfähigkeit viel mehr meiner Vorstellung eines mittelalterlichen Troubadours entsprach, als die klassischen Stimmen vieler in der Alten Musik eingesetzten Sänger. Später wurde ich selbst Musiker bei Deine Lakaien und hatte Gelegenheit, Alexander Veljanov das Kreuzfahrerprojekt vorzustellen.

Bei den ersten Proben stellte sich bald heraus, daß seine und Syrahs Stimmen gut harmonierten und damit nahm alles weitere seinen Lauf bis zur Vollendung der Aufnahme.


ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Foto Fred Stichnoth
  Top