Helium Vola

CD 2001–2004

Helium Vola



Medieval music · Elektronics · Avantgarde

In Ernst Horn’s changeful life as musician there can bee seen two constant artistic lines: his love for melancholic songs, like we know them from Celtic folk songs, or the music of a Franz Schubert. On the other hand, there is the constant wish to elaborate social and political topics in his music.

Together with front vocalist Alexander Veljanov, Ernst Horn - who is a studied and qualified percussionist, pianist and conductor - are combining melancholy and avant-garde, acoustic sounds and electronic in a completely new and independent way. The band “Deine Lakaien”, whose sounds are far from usual habits and recipes for success of the music industry, regularly reached top ten chart placements.

At the same time, the former orchestra leader for opera, operetta and theatre composer also created soundtracks about the gulf war and the German reunification, which are audio collages about armament, futurism and monetarism and can be regarded as a unique combination of documentary, satire and music.

Ernst Horn, Sabine Lutzenberger

With Helium Vola he combines the above-mentioned two elements with lyrics, mainly from the medieval period and creates new exciting electronic avant-garde, the instrumental and vocal art of the early music. Ernst Horn already produced the first two albums of the band Qntal, now he goes one step further. Both albums, Helium Vola and Liod, are considered as unique artworks, visionary, highly professional and far from simple “crossover” material.

Sabine Lutzenberger is the “main voice” of Helium Vola. She is one of the best early music singers, soloist and member of well-known international vocal ensembles. Recently, she is more and more working with serious avant-garde music.

Beside Sabine Lutzenberger, also singing: Gerlinde Sämann, Andreas Hirtreiter and Joel Frederiksen, who are working as soloists, they are singing for the opera, as concert soloists but also successfully working with ensembles like „Hilliard“, „Hesperion“ or „Huelgas“.

Instruments were added to Horns electronic soundscapes by Ralf Hübner, violin and guitars, concertmaster of the Neue Philharmonie Frankfurt and member of the band „Chamber“, Olga Hübner, viola, also working for the before mentioned ensembles and Jost Hecker, who is, amongst other things, cellist of the „Modern String Quartet“.

Releases


Click on the album for more information:

Helium Vola - In lichter Farbe steht der Wald EP
Helium Vola
In lichter Farbe steht der Wald
EP

2004
Helium Vola - Liod CD+SACD
Helium Vola
Liod
CD+SACD

2004
Helium Vola - Veni Veni Maxi Single
Helium Vola
Veni Veni
Maxi Single

2004
Helium Vola - Helium Vola
Helium Vola
Helium Vola
2001
Helium Vola - Omnis Mundi Creatura Maxi CD
Helium Vola
Omnis Mundi Creatura
Maxi CD

2001

Band Members

  • Ernst Horn
  • Sabine Lutzenberger

Special Members

  • Gerlinde Sämann
  • Andreas Hirtreiter
  • Joel Frederiksen
  • Ralf Hübner
  • Olga Hübner
  • Jost Hecker

External link


  Top

Helium Vola

CD 2001–2004

Helium Vola



Mittelaltermusik · Elektronik · Avantgarde

Im wechselvollen Musikerleben Ernst Horns kann man zwei künstlerische Konstanten feststellen, zum einen den Hang zu melancholischen Balladen, wie man sie aus der keltischen Folklore oder dem klassischen „Kunstlied“ eines Franz Schubert kennt. Andererseits geht es ihm immer wieder auch darum, gesellschaftliche und politische Themen musikalisch zu verarbeiten.

So verbindet Horn als studierter Schlagzeuger, Pianist und Dirigent zusammen mit seinem Gesangspartner Alexander Veljanov als Gruppe „Deine Lakaien“ musikalisch Melancholie und Avantgarde, akustische Klänge und Elektronik auf eine vollkommen neue und sehr eigenständige Weise fernab des Mainstream. Die Hörer danken es regelmässig mit Chartsplatzierungen in den Top Ten.

Zugleich schuf der frühere „Kapellmeister für Oper und Operette“ und Theaterkomponist mit Musik über den Golfkrieg und die Wiedervereinigung, mit Hörspielcollagen über Aufrüstung, Futurismus und Monetarismus eine Symbiose aus Dokumentation, Satire und Musik, die in ihrer Art ebenso einmalig ist.

Ernst Horn, Sabine Lutzenberger

Diese beiden Elemente verbindet Ernst Horn - der auch die beiden ersten Alben der Band Qntal produzierte - nun mit dem Projekt Helium Vola mit vorwiegend aus dem Mittelalter stammenden Texten zu einer neuartigen, aufregenden Mischung aus Elektronischer Avantgarde und der Instrumental- und Vokalkunst der Alten Musik. Die beiden Alben Helium Vola und Liod gelten heute als künstlerische Unikate, fantasievoll und hochprofessionell, und fernab von jeglicher „Cross-over“-Seichtheit.

Sabine Lutzenberger, eine der hervorragendsten Sängerinnen der Alten Musik, Solistin und Mitglied bedeutender internationaler Vokalensembles und in letzter Zeit auch vermehrt in der E-Musik Avantgarde tätig, ist die „Hauptstimme“ von Helium Vola.

Unterstützt wird sie gesanglich von Gerlinde Sämann, Andreas Hirtreiter und Joel Frederiksen, alles Solisten, die auf der Opernbühne, als Konzertsolisten, aber auch mit Ensembles, wie „Hilliard“, „Hesperion“ oder „Huelgas“ Erfolge feiern.

Als Instrumentalisten wirken zudem mit und bereichern die elekronischen Klangwelten mit akustischen Instrumenten: Ralf Hübner, Violine und Gitarre, Konzertmeister der Neuen Philharmonie Frankfurt und Mitglied der Band „Chamber“, Olga Hübner, Viola, ebenfalls in den genannten Ensembles tätig, sowie Jost Hecker, der unter anderem als Cellist beim „Modern String Quartet“ brilliert.

Veröffentlichungen


Für weitere Informationen bitte auf das Album klicken:

Helium Vola - In lichter Farbe steht der Wald EP
Helium Vola
In lichter Farbe steht der Wald
EP

2004
Helium Vola - Liod CD+SACD
Helium Vola
Liod
CD+SACD

2004
Helium Vola - Veni Veni Maxi Single
Helium Vola
Veni Veni
Maxi Single

2004
Helium Vola - Helium Vola
Helium Vola
Helium Vola
2001
Helium Vola - Omnis Mundi Creatura Maxi CD
Helium Vola
Omnis Mundi Creatura
Maxi CD

2001

Bandmitglieder

  • Ernst Horn
  • Sabine Lutzenberger

Weitere Musiker (wechselnd)

  • Gerlinde Sämann
  • Andreas Hirtreiter
  • Joel Frederiksen
  • Ralf Hübner
  • Olga Hübner
  • Jost Hecker

Externer Link


  Top