Elation Elegance Exaltation

CD 1995


Elation Elegance Exaltation

Studio-Album

Musical Experiments with Sound »Magick«

Their music is as mysterious as mathematics, as empirical as poetry, as vague as sorrow and just as depending on personal use as it is love, thus Idee des Nordens described their debut album.

This music is addictive, with each listening, one discovers more dimensions to it. Tip for listening in: “Gold” and “One Man’s Evil”.

Elation ELATION

Elegance ELEGANCE

Exaltation EXALTATION

IDEE DES NORDENS is part of the Hamburg-based STORA community and deals with the popular sides of music. STORA is devoted to the discovery of personal soundstructures, and IDEE DES NORDENS takes the risk to scrutinize the overall suitability of this experiment.
Developments yet to come are given the prospects for on “Elation Elegance Exaltation”, as well as the last years in the history of music are recapitulated. The quality of music material is independent of its context and its stylistic classification. IDEE DES NORDENS discovered the power of music in the micro-structure of its sounds.
Easy Listening of its very own kind, catchy melodies and infectious rhythms, combined with unusual sounds which come from totally different musical or acoustic contexts. Just as the western world is, the music of IDEE DES NORDENS is a whole big supermarket. In joyful carefreeness IDEE DES NORDENS mix the most different material so complex, that it’s only adequate to call it polyphone pop.
Even more unusual it might appear that there’s no definite separation into melody and harmony in the music of IDEE DES NORDENS. In other words: Everything’s in the foreground, and if you’re not giving an ear to it, the things you ignored before will suddenly be a real surprise to you. Pleasure on several levels. This is just appropriate for a society in which everything and all clots into information.
“Who understands to play with musical material of such different kind as sovereign as IDEE DES NORDENS do, has to be of mercuric carefreeness.”
(G. Schalkalwis/STORA)

Musical depth and relaxing sounds in their purest. Reveals new dimensions with each listening.

Video

Besides RESIDENT-like trickiness and COIL-like sound complexity, there's also elements of modern classical music, of runic apocalyptic folk, or of modest Trance music. ... Elation-Elegance-Exaltation as a debut album remains unequalled and revolutionary.

Schellackgeschrei

Wonderful melodic and dreamy passages, which make each Dark Wave or Neofolk band go green with envy ... the album of the year

Zillo

Track list

  • One man's evil can become the curse of all
  • Blödraiser
  • Gold
  • Fingercode
  • Wunder
  • Flut
  • Supreme
  • Mond
  • Jasmin & Rosen
  • White Stains

  Top

Elation Elegance Exaltation

CD 1995


Elation Elegance Exaltation

Studio-Album

Musikalische Experimente mit Sound »Magick«

Ihre Musik sei so geheimnisvoll wie Mathematik, so empirisch wie Poesie, so unbestimmt wie Kummer und ebenso abhängig von persönlichem Gebrauch wie die Liebe, sagen Idee des Nordens über ihr Debutalbum.

Wie auch immer: diese Musik macht süchtig, bei jedem Hören tun sich neue Dimensionen auf! Anspieltip: „Gold“ und „One Man’s Evil“.

Elation ELATION

Elegance ELEGANCE

Exaltation EXALTATION

IDEE DES NORDENS ist Teil der Hamburger Gemeinschaft STORA und kümmert sich um die populäre Seite der Musik. STORA widmet sich der Erforschung persönlicher Klangräume, und IDEE DES NORDENS unternimmt das Wagnis, dieses Experiment auf allgemeine Tauglichkeit zu überprüfen.
Das Album „Elation Elegance Exaltation“ verarbeitet die letzten Jahre Musikgeschichte und gibt Ausblicke auf anstehende musikalische Entwicklungen. Die Güte des musikalischen Materials ist unabhängig von ihrem Zusammenhang und ihrer stilitischen Zuordnung. IDEE DES NORDENS erkennt die Kraft der Musik in der Mikrostruktur ihrer Klänge.
Eingängige Melodien und poppige Rhythmen laden zum easy listening der besonderen Art ein, sie sind gepaart mit ungewöhnlichen Klängen, die aus ganz anderen musikalischen oder akustischen Zusammenhängen stammen. Wie die westliche Welt, ist auch die Musik von IDEE DES NORDENS ein einziger großer Supermarkt. Mit fröhlicher Unbekümmertheit vermengt IDEE DES NORDENS unterschiedlichstes musikalisches Material so vielschichtig, daß man ohne Übertreibung von polyphonem Pop sprechen kann.
Es erscheint vor allem ungewohnt, daß es in der Musik von IDEE DES NORDENS keine eindeutige Unterteilung in Melodie und Begleitung gibt. Mit anderen Worten: Alles steht im Vordergrund, und wenn ich mich darauf nicht einlasse, wird es mich an unvorhersehbarer Stelle ganz schön überraschen, was an anderer Stelle ohne mein besonderes Hinhören geschehen ist. Hörgenuß auf mehreren Ebenen! Einer Gesellschaft, der alles zu Information gerinnt, ist dies angemessen.
„Wer so souverän wie IDEE DES NORDENS mit musikalischem Material verschiedenster Art leichtfertig zu spielen versteht, muß über eine merkurische Unbekümmertheit verfügen.“
(G. Schalkalwis/STORA)

Musikalischer Tiefgang und entspannungstaugliche Klänge pur. Gewinnt durch mehrmaliges Hören immer neue Dimensionen.

Video

Neben RESIDENT-scher Vertracktheit und COIL'schen Soundcollagen tauchen ebenso Elemente der modernen Klassik, des runenbeschliffenen Endzeitfolks oder des gemäßigten Trance auf. ... Elation-Elegance-Exaltation bleibt als Debut unerreicht und revolutionär.

Schellackgeschrei

Wunderbar melodisch-verträumte Passagen, die jede Darkwave- und Neofolkgruppe erblassen lassen ... das Album des Jahres

Zillo

Titel-Liste

  • One man's evil can become the curse of all
  • Blödraiser
  • Gold
  • Fingercode
  • Wunder
  • Flut
  • Supreme
  • Mond
  • Jasmin & Rosen
  • White Stains

  Top