About this retrospective

Chrom Records 1988–2007

The late Nineties were the heyday of the independent music. This website shows an overview over the a 20 years’s of the indie record label Chrom Records.

Please note that the artist portraits cover the the years 1988–2007 only and will, in many cases, naturally not represent their complete works but only their time on Chrom Records.

Concept for this retrospektive

This is a reconstruction of the contents of the 10 years old former website from Chrom Records, presentet in a fresh, modern look. Frequently we will add new material, links and interviews, we received from the artists or find in our archives. This gives a more complete picture of the period of time and the involved artists from different perspectives.

This website concentrates Carl Erling’s signings, who was the label manager during that period. So the early American Gothic bands of the early period and some co-operations with other labels are not included in this summary right now.

From “cult” to “culture”

Many source texts on this website were written in the style of promotional texts. At the moment many of these texts are being revised and rewritten from today’s point of view. The aim is no longer a promotion but an artistic classification and reflection. However, texts that are worth preserving in their original form from a historical perspective, including earlier press releases, press reports and interviews, will continue to be shown in the original text.

We ask for your help

At the contact page we have a form where you can send in your reports and suggestions. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

  Top

Über diese Retrospektive

Chrom Records 1988–2007

Die späten Neunziger waren die Blütezeit der Independent-Labels. Diese Website bietet einen Überblick über 20 Jahre dieses deutschen Indie-Labels.

Die vorgestellten Künstlerportraits betreffen die Jahre 1988–2007 und repräsentieren in vielen Fällen natürlich nicht das Gesamtwerk der Künstler, sondern nur deren Zeit bei Chrom Records.

Konzept zur Retrospektive

Dies ist die Rekonstruktion der 10 Jahre alten früheren Website von Chrom Records, präsentiert in neuem Look. Jetzt werden weitere Materialien und Links regelmäßig ergänzt, die wir von Künstlern erhalten oder im Archiv finden. Zudem wird mit aktuellen Artikeln und Interviews die Zeitperiode und die beteiligten Künstler aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln neu portraitiert.

Berücksichtigt werden auf dieser Website momentan nur die Signings des damaligen Label-Managers Carl Erling. Die amerikanischen Signings aus der Anfangsphase oder einige Label-Kooperationen werden in dieser Werkübersicht also bieher nicht vorgestellt.

Vom „Kult“ zur „Kultur“

Die Originaltexte auf dieser Website sind im Stil von Promotiontexten verfasst. Momentan werden solche Texte überarbeitet und objektiviert, es sei denn, Texte sind aus historischem Blickwinkel im Original erhaltenswert, z.B. einige frühere Presseinformationen, Presseberichte und Interviews.

Wir bitten um Mithilfe

Bei Kontakt gibt es ein Formular, um Unrichtigkeiten zu melden, Vorschläge zu schicken oder z.B. noch fehlende Credits-Angaben zu Artworks etc. zu ergänzen.


  Top