Niowt

CD 1997–2001

Niowt



Crossover

Three times winner of the Slovenian
MARSEV GOJZAR Award

Even if it’s a bit difficult, you should keep this name in mind. Because what’s behind it, pronounced something like “njaut”, is the Sioxsie of the coming decade - with a first-class band, which in an individual and above all virtuoso manner weave all achievements of the Nineties into their extraordinary songs, yet always being catchy and understandable. Could there be a match to Garbage, Siouxsie and Elastica at the same time? - Yes, with NIOWT from Ljubljana!!!

Niowt - are a bewitching, agile and enigmatic woman with dark, charming voice: singer and guitarist Mojca Krevel (an English translator, a.o. of Umberto Eco and American Beat Poets), and the brilliant keyboarder Peter Senk, who besides that is an architect and photographer with various exhibitions all over the globe.

These two mid-twenties, who are responsible for the songwriting, are supported by Robert Oven (bass, didgeridoo) and Matej Puklavec. And by a drummer who’s a class of his own. This guy, Bostjan Vajs, does not exactly have the statue of a bear, and it’s true he’s only 16 years old, and - literally - animal-like. He’s beating his drums like a berserk, but also produces the most complicated breaks so precisely, that you’re almost desparately start searching for the Drum’n’Bass machine, which “for real” could do this digital thundering…

NIOWT - Mojca Krevel 1997
NIOWT - Mojca Krevel 1997
NIOWT - Peter Senk 1997
NIOWT - Peter Senk 1997

Releases


Click on the album for more information:

Niowt - Loverboy
Niowt
Loverboy
2001
Niowt - City
Niowt
City
1997

Band Members

  • Mojca Krevel
  • Peter Senk
  • Jernej Jurc
  • Bojan Brajkovic
  • Bostjan Vajs

Special Members

  • Matej Puklavec
  • Robert Oven

Lean more

External link


  Top

Niowt

CD 1997–2001

Niowt



Crossover

Dreimaliger Gewinner des slowenischen
MARSEV GOJZAR Award

„Ein Quintett, das mit seiner schlichtweg unglaublichen Kombination von Stilen und Mut internationales Format beweist.“ (ME Sounds ,1997)

Auch wenn’s schwerfällt, diesen Bandnamen sollte man sich unbedingt merken. Denn was sich hinter ihm, der etwa „njaut“ ausgesprochen wird, verbirgt, ist die Siouxsie des nächsten Jahrtausends - mit einer erstklassigen Band, die sämtliche Errungenschaften der Neunziger individuell und vor allem virtuos, aber dennoch zu jeder Zeit eingängig und nachvollziehbar in ihre extraordinären Songs einwebt. Können Garbage, Siouxsie und Elastica wirklich einen gemeinsamen Nenner haben? - Ja, mit Niowt aus Ljubljana!!!

Niowt - das sind eine betörende, agile und rätselhafte Frau mit dunkler, beschwörender Stimme: Sängerin und Gitarristin Mojca Krevel (bisher als freie Englischübersetzerin, u.a. Umberto Eco und amerikanische Beatpoeten, tätig), und der erstklassige Keyboarder Peter Senk, der ansonsten Architekt ist und als Fotograf diverse Ausstellungen rund um den Globus hat.

NIOWT - Mojca Krevel 1997
NIOWT - Mojca Krevel 1997
NIOWT - Peter Senk 1997
NIOWT - Peter Senk 1997

Die beiden Mittzwanziger und für das Songwriting Verantwortlichen werden von Robert Oven (Baß, Didgeridoo) und Matej Puklavec unterstützt. Und von einem Drummer, der wirklich eine Klasse für sich ist. Der Typ ist von ungewöhnlich zarter Statur, heißt Bostjan Vajs, ist wirklich erst 16 und - im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes - tierisch gut!!! Wie ein Berserker schlägt er auf seine Felle ein, produziert jedoch auch die kompliziertesten Breaks so ultrapräzise, daß man fast schon verzweifelt nach der Drum’n’Bass-Machine sucht, die „in Wirklichkeit“ für dieses digitale Rhythmusgewitter verantwortlich ist.

Veröffentlichungen


Für weitere Informationen bitte auf das Album klicken:

Niowt - Loverboy
Niowt
Loverboy
2001
Niowt - City
Niowt
City
1997

Bandmitglieder

  • Mojca Krevel
  • Peter Senk
  • Jernej Jurc
  • Bojan Brajkovic
  • Bostjan Vajs

Weitere Musiker (wechselnd)

  • Matej Puklavec
  • Robert Oven

Mehr erfahren


  Top