Cover Ghetto Love
Studio-Album – Oliver Dean

Ghetto Love

Studio-Album
Released: 1998

Track list

  • Killing Pedestrians
  • Fall
  • Mortal Romances
  • Pressure Drop
  • Great Madonna
  • Pictures of you
  • Electric blue
  • Starlight
  • Prelude to trust
  • Lena's Dream
  • Static blue schemes
  • Vivir

One of the most beautiful dark songwriting-voices of the label.

Dean describes the ghettos of the lost hearts and dying emotions. What might be misleading to expect something heavily pathetic and whiny, Dean in fact transform highly elegant and schmaltz-free; and in a solo run. It takes Dean only few guest musicians and a richness of melodies to create the emotional denseness of a melancholic world view. But, again, don’t be mislead to fear a “ballad-album”. There are ballads, but they are of cool elegance and free of ressentiment. Actually, “Ghetto Love” is an album which works without any stereotypes: no running after trends, and the sonorous voice of Dean often seems to tell more than it sings, thus reminding of Cale, Cohen and Reed … A beautiful album, definitely not made for dancing or singing along, but best appreciated when simply listening to it.

Oliver Dean, Songwriter

    Astan Music Magazine

    Dean reveals himself as an unusual poet, a dandy of melancholy. Heavy organs and driving drums, balladesque pianos and mourning guitars. Add to this Dean's voice, which seems to caress the words before pronouncing them, singing them out. Pure emotion. Dean sometimes seems to choke on his melancholy. But he remains the dandyesque singer, foreboding, knowing, feeling the doom. Dean is the narrator of melancholy love relationships. He is the man who observingly tells the little stories. The little stories that mean more to us than the big world events.

    Gothic Music Magazine

    Dean took three years to present his debut. And for comparisons with Bowie, Cale and Reed, this multi-instrumentalist has created a legendary "Laissez faire, but take live serious" album. Sometimes melancholically close, the chorus then sung more distantly. Sometimes melancholically and emotionally scarred, sometimes full of emotion for a new day after a long night, this is how the songs work and entangle the listener pleasantly in thoughts with or a drink.

    Lean more

    External link

    Studio-Album
    Released: 1998

    Track list

    • Killing Pedestrians
    • Fall
    • Mortal Romances
    • Pressure Drop
    • Great Madonna
    • Pictures of you
    • Electric blue
    • Starlight
    • Prelude to trust
    • Lena's Dream
    • Static blue schemes
    • Vivir
    ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Cover Art + Photo: Irina Pasdarca

    Oliver Dean  ... Select other artist:


    Oliver Dean
    Releases at
    Chrom Records:

Ghetto Love

CD 1998


Ghetto Love

Studio-Album

Eine wunderschönes Love & Tristesse-Album mit einer unverwechselbaren Songwriter-Stimme.

Dean beschreibt die Ghettos der verlassenen Herzen und der sterbenden Gefühle. Was jetzt schwer nach Pathos und Weinerlichkeit klingt, überträgt Dean sehr elegant und nahezu schmachtfrei; und im Alleingang. Mit nur wenigen Gastmusikern und vielen Melodien schafft Dean die gefühlsdichte Atmopshäre einer melancholischen Weltsicht.Wer jetzt ein Balladenalbum fürchtet, ist schon wieder schief gewickelt. Es gibt sie zwar, doch sind sie von kühler Eleganz und frei von Ressentiments. Überhaupt ist „Ghetto Love“ ein aus allen Rahmen schwebendes Album: Nicht ein hipper Musiktrend ist zu hören und die sonore Stimme Deans erzählt oft mehr, dass sie singt und erinnert dabei an Cale, Cohen und Reed … Ein wunderschönes Album, zu dem man weder mitsingen noch mittanzen kann, sondern einfach zuhört. (Musix)

„Wohl einer der dezentesten Seelentrips aller Zeiten.“ (Notes Musikmagazin)

Dean zeigt sich als ein ungewöhnlicher Poet, ein Dandy der Melancholie. Schwere Orgeln und treibende Trommeln, balladeske Pianos und trauernde Gitarren. Dazu die Stimme Deans, welche die Worte zu streicheln scheint, bevor sie sie ausspricht, heraussingt. Emotion pur. Dean scheint manchmal an seiner Melancholie zu ersticken. Aber er bleibt ganz der dandyeske Sänger, den Untergang ahnend, wissend, spürend. Dean ist der Erzähler melancholischer Liebesbeziehungen. Er ist der Mann, der beobachtend die kleinen Geschichten erzählt. Die kleinen Geschichten, die uns mehr bedeuten als das große Weltgeschehen.

Astan Musikmagazin

Drei Jahre Zeit ließ sich de Einzelgänge Dean, um sein Debut vorzustellen. Und für Vergleiche mit Bowie, Cale und Reed, hat sic hder Multiinstrumentalist zu einem sagenumwobenen »Laissez faire, but take live serious« -Album durchgesetzt. Mal melancholisch nah, den Chorus dann entfernter gesungen. Mal melancholisch und seelisch vernarbt, mal voll Emotion für einen neuen Tag nach einer langen Nacht, so wirken die Songs und verstricken den Hörer angenehm in Gedanken mit oder einem Drink.

Gothic Musikmagazin

Titel-Liste

  • Killing Pedestrians
  • Fall
  • Mortal Romances
  • Pressure Drop
  • Great Madonna
  • Pictures of you
  • Electric blue
  • Starlight
  • Prelude to trust
  • Lena's Dream
  • Static blue schemes
  • Vivir

Mehr erfahren

Externer Link


ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Cover Art + Photo: Irina Pasdarca

Oliver Dean   Auswahl: Künstler


Veröffentlichungen:

  Top