Release Information 1998

Oliver Dean: Ghetto Love

Studio-Album

The way this singer/songwriter, being “just a newcomer”, presents his very own album is almost insolent. Not giving any tribute to marketing strategies, and ignoring that the music business wants gags and gimmicks, he is simply doing his own thing.

Oliver Deans way of working is monomaniacal. Ghetto Love is his album; he wrote the songs, he played them, supported by nine guest musicians, he produced and mixed the album himself. When Oliver Dean self-confidentially and presumptuous names his inspirations, it is not arrogance but the demand of high standards: David Bowie, Lou Reed and John Cale - loners and mulititalents, who gave numerous impulses and innovations in the recent 30 years of music.

Ghetto Love is a programmatic title for the album of a lone wolf. The songs are episodes in the history of an individual in a - metaphoric - ghetto: external separaton and self-chosen isolation. Nevertheless, the seductiveness of this music is surprising. Oliver Dean is talking from experience, be it friendship, love, and also its failure, or loneliness, madness and dreams of flying.

Admirers of a certain gloomy elegance will love this album. There is an incredible erotic tension, created by the steadiness the music radiates in even the most tensive moments, and Oliver Dean’s deep voice, which stays calm, almost cool, when he sings about painful matters. It’s hard to put this elegant, bitter sweet music in words - maybe it is more helpful to remember the night club scenes from Blue Velvet or the mood of the Nouvelle Vague films. Oliver Dean is the reincarnation of the dandy, known from Roxy Music and Bryan Ferry - in a post-modern, broken form.

Ghetto Love is outlet, purification, catharsis. It wouldn’t be quite right to call it an ego trip. Ghetto Love is the result of a long solo run, now Oliver Dean emerges from his Ghetto, having created an album which, in contrast to the chill of its motifs, always sounds warm, close and almost optimistic.


Track list:
  • Killing Pedestrians
  • Fall
  • Mortal Romances
  • Pressure Drop
  • Great Madonna
  • Pictures of you
  • Electric blue
  • Starlight
  • Prelude to trust
  • Lena's Dream
  • Static blue schemes
  • Vivir

  Top

Release Information 1998

Oliver Dean: Ghetto Love

Studio-Album

Es ist direkt unverfroren, wie da ein Newcomer in der Rolle des Singer/Songwriter und Instrumentalisten sein ganz persönliches Album vorlegt. Ohne jede Rücksicht auf Marketing-Mätzchen, Gags und Gimmicks. Frei von Bombast und Brimborium erzählt hier jemand seine Geschichte.

Oliver Deans Arbeitsweise ist monomanisch. Ghetto Love ist sein Album: er schrieb die Songs, er spielte sie, unterstützt von neun Gastmusikern, ein, er produzierte und mischte das Album selbst. Es ist keine Arroganz, sondern ein hoher Anspruch an sich selbst, wenn sich Oliver Dean bei der Wahl seiner Vorbilder selbstbewusst und unbescheiden gibt: David Bowie, Lou Reed und John Cale - Eigenbrödler und Multitalente, denen die Musikgeschichte der letzten 30 Jahre etliche Impulse und Innovationen verdankt.

Ghetto Love ist ein programmatischer Titel für das Album eines Einzelgängers. Die Songs sind Episoden aus der Geschichte eines Individuums in einem - metaphorisch gemeinten - Ghetto: die äußerlich erzwungene Abgrenzung und die selbstgewählte Isolation. Da dieses kühle Moment, quasi eine Abrechnung mit dem Leben im Ghetto, der Ausgangspunkt für dieses Album ist, überrascht die Verführungskraft der Musik. Oliver Dean erzählt Geschichten von Freundschaft und Liebe, auch von ihrem Scheitern, von Einsamkeit, Wahnsinn und dem Traum vom Fliegen.


… ein apokalyptischer Dandy !

Liebhaber einer gewissen zurückgenommenen Eleganz und Coolness werden Oliver Dean schätzen. Aus der ruhigen Gewißheit, die die Musik auch in ihren spannendsten Momenten ausstrahlt, und Oliver Deans tiefer Stimme, die auch dann gelassen, man möchte fast sagen cool, bleibt, wenn sie von Schmerzlichem singt - daraus resultiert eine ungeheure erotische Spannung. Diese elegante, bittersüße Musik ist schwer in Worte zu fassen - es ist aussagekräftiger, sich an die Nachtclubszenen aus Blue Velvet oder das Kino der Nouvelle Vague zu erinnern. In Oliver Dean scheint das Bild des Dandys wieder auf, wie ihn Roxy Music und Bryan Ferry verkörperten - in einer apokalyptischen, gebrochenen Form.

Ghetto Love ist ein Ventil, Reinigung, Katharsis. Hier von einem “Egotrip” zu reden, trifft knapp daneben. Ghetto Love ist Resultat eines langjährigen Alleingangs, nun tritt Oliver Dean aus dem Ghetto heraus und er bringt ein Album mit, das im Gegensatz zur Kälte seiner Thematik zu jedem Zeitpunkt warm, nah und hoffnungsvoll klingt.


Titel-Liste:
  • Killing Pedestrians
  • Fall
  • Mortal Romances
  • Pressure Drop
  • Great Madonna
  • Pictures of you
  • Electric blue
  • Starlight
  • Prelude to trust
  • Lena's Dream
  • Static blue schemes
  • Vivir

  Top