Suck Success

Run Run Vanguard:

 Suck Success

Studio-Album

TAZ writes about the Berlin band RUN RUN RUN VANGUARD led by singer Alexander Veljanov (also frontman of Deine Lakaien): “Broken black city music with a pinch of loving hope, changing moods and sharpness juggling precisely. Absolutely perfect.”

The debut album entitled “Suck Success” was produced by the four-man band themselves, but some of the songs were completed with the help of English producer Dave Young (among others John Cale, Element of Crime).

The special charm of the music of RUN RUN VANGUARD lies among other things in the friction between partly rough, partly demanding energy, with which the rhythm/bass/guitar section even advances into grunge realms, and Veljanov’s emotionality, which can sometimes, if required, turn into unusual hardness and determination. Topics such as AIDS, career addiction, incest, life in exile can be found in RUN RUN VANGUARD as well as romantic-melancholic stories about love, suffering and redemption. The listener may particularly notice the Macedonian song “Taga sa jug”, whose lyrics, like all on this record, were written by Veljanov.

Run Run Vandguard

“Suck Success” can be seen as a representative cross-section of the band repertoire. The band, founded in 1988, played since December 1990 in the following line-up: “Timo Arnd, bass, Doc P. Boghe, guitar, Werner Engel, drums and Alexander Veljanov, voice.

The release of “Suck Success” was followed by a short tour, including a highly acclaimed appearance at PopKomm. Further appearances in small clubs followed, which many of us still remember well. Soon it became foreseeable, however, that the band, some of whose members had to leave Berlin for professional reasons, found it more and more difficult to work and set up together. The band split up at the end of 1994. What remains is a remarkable album that allows us to continue to share the energy and emotions of this unconventional ensemble.

  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1988 - Band Photo
    Run Run Vanguard 1988 - Band Photo

Notes music magazine

It was known that Alexander Veljanov, the singer of the absolute cult band DEINE LAKAIEN, had another project going on, but so far there have been no recordings of this band. One only ever heard that Veljanov here tries other things, that with Run Run Vanguard he "cultivates his rocking mainstay" and the like. But you never didn't know exactly... Suck Success is an emotional rollercoaster. On this CD it has ballad-like pieces like "Time" or the wonderful (best piece of the CD!) in Macedonian sung "Taga sa Jug", then it has heavy rock/grunge material like the title piece. Run Run Vanguard ... get their special charm from the fact that the DEINE LAKAIENS' voice is suddenly in a completely different context and that takes getting used to. But it works.

Subline

...Until now inseparably connected with the transparent sound of the DEINE LAKAIEN, his distinctive voice - with the exception of the pieces "Debauchees" and "Harbour Of Silence" supported by a violin - is here embedded in the context of a classical instrumentation of guitar, bass and drums and placed over all styles of contemporary guitar music. As interesting as Run Run Vanguard sound, they also sound trendy. The deliberately seeming trendiness and the brevity of the CD are forgiven, however, because'Veljanov has discovered grunge as inspiration' - that's something! (Barbara Berrar)

Lean more

Studio-Album
Released: 1993

Track list

  • Debauchees
  • Believers
  • Harbour of Silence
  • Keyvent
  • Taga sa jug
  • Suck Success
  • Time
  • His Story of Latah

Run Run Vanguard   Selection: artist


Releases at
Chrom Records:

  Top

Suck Success

CD 1993


Suck Success

Studio-Album

Über die Berliner Band RUN RUN VANGUARD um Sänger Alexander Veljanov (u. a. auch Frontmann von Deine Lakaien) schreibt die TAZ: „Kaputte schwarze Großstadtmusik mit einer Prise liebevoller Hoffnung, Stimmungs- und Schärfenwechsel genauestens jonglierend. Absolut perfekt.“

Das „Suck Success“ betitelte Debut-Album entstand in Eigenregie der vierköpfigen Band, jedoch wurde ein Teil der Songs unter Mithilfe des englischen Producers Dave Young (u.a. John Cale, Element of Crime) fertiggestellt.

Der besondere Reiz der Musik von RUN RUN VANGUARD liegt u.a. in der Reibung zwischen teils rauher, teils fordernder Energie, mit der die Rythmus/Bass/Gitarren-Sektion sogar in Grunge-Gefilde vorstößt, und der Emotionalität Veljanovs, die hier teilweise, wenn gefordert, in ungewohnter Härte und Entschlossenheit umschlagen kann. Themen Wie Aids, Karrieresucht, Inzest, Leben im Exil findet man bei RUN RUN VANGUARD ebenso wieder, als auch romantisch-melancholische Geschichten um Liebe, Leid und Erlösung. Besonders auffallen mag hierbei dem Hörer das auf Mazedonisch gesungene „Taga sa jug“, dessen Text wie alle auf dieser Platte aus der Feder Veljanovs stammt.

„Suck Success“ kann als repräsentativer Querschnitt des Bandrepertoires gesehen werden. Die 1988 gegründete Band spielte seit Dezember 1990 in folgender Besetzung: „Timo Arnd, Bass, Doc P. Boghe, Gitarre, Werner Engel, Drums und Alexander Veljanov, Stimme.

Der Veröffentlichung von „Suck Success“ folgte eine kleine Tour, unter anderem mit einem vielbeachteten Auftritt auf der PopKomm. Es folgten noch weitere Auftritte in kleinen Clubs, die vielen von uns noch in guter Erinnerung geblieben sind. Bald wurde jedoch absehbar, daß die Band, deren Mitglieder mittlerweile aus beruflichen Gründen Berlin zum Teil verlassen mußten, immer schwieriger Zeit fanden, um zusammen zu arbeiten und aufzuteten. Die Band löste sich Ende 1994 auf. Zurück bleibt ein bemerkenswertes Album, welches uns an der Energie und den Emotionen dieses eigenwilligen Ensembles auch weiterhin teilhaben lässt.

  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
    Run Run Vanguard 1990 - Trash Club LIVE
  • Run Run Vanguard 1988 - Band Photo
    Run Run Vanguard 1988 - Band Photo

Man wußte zwar, daß Alexander Veljanov, der Sänger der absoluten Kultband Deine Lakaien, ein weiteres Projekt am Laufen hat, es gab bisher aber keine Tonträger dieser Band. Man hörte immer nur, daß Veljanov hier anderes ausprobiert, daß er mit Run Run Vanguard "sein rockiges Standbein pflegt" und diesgleichen. Man wußte aber nie nix Genaues... Suck Success ist ein Wechselbad der Emotionen. Es hat auf dieser CD balladenhafte Stücke wie etwa "Time" oder das wunderbare (beste Stück der CD!) in mazedonisch gesungene "Taga sa Jug", dann hat es schwer rockig/grungigen Stoff wie etwa das Titelstück. Run Run Vanguard ... gewinnen ihren besonderen Reiz dadurch, daß die Lakaien-Stimme auf einmal in einem völlig anderen Kontext steht und das ist schon gewöhnungsbedürftig. Aber es funktioniert.

Notes Musikmagazin

…Bisher untrennbar mit dem transparenten Sound der Lakaien verbunden, wird seine markante Stimme hier mit Ausnahme der durch eine Violine unterstützten Stücke "Debauchees" und "Harbour Of Silence" - in den Kontext einer klassischen Besetzung von Gitarre, Baß und Drums eingebettet und über sämtliche Stilrichtungen zeitgenössischer Gitarrenmusik gelegt.So interessant Run Run Vanguard klingen, so trendy klingen sie auch. Die gewollt scheinende Trendiness und die Kürze der CD seien jedoch verziehen, denn‚ Veljanov hat den Grunge als Inspiration entdeckt' - das ist doch was! (Barbara Berrar)

Subline

Titel-Liste

  • Debauchees
  • Believers
  • Harbour of Silence
  • Keyvent
  • Taga sa jug
  • Suck Success
  • Time
  • His Story of Latah

Mehr erfahren


Run Run Vanguard   Auswahl: Künstler


Veröffentlichungen:

  Top