Run Run Vanguard
ZILLO 9/1993 - Frank Keil

Singer Alexander Veljanov (Deine Lakaien) is a very busy musician who, when he is not dedicated to the Lakaien, comes up with such interesting side projects as the band Run Run Vanguard. On the occasion of the release of their debut “Suck Success” (with cover reminiscences of Velvet Underground) a look behind the scenes of the Berlin quartet seemed more than worthwhile.

Run Run Vanguard are clearly guitar rock, but according to their singer they don’t see themselves as a gothic rock band. Founded in 1988 and since December 1990 with the line-up of Tim Arndt (bass), Doc P. Bohge (guitar), Werner Engel (drums) and Alexander Veljanov (voice), the group has, on the contrary, also made inroads into other contemporary musical areas of guitar music (e.g. grunge) and lives above all from the contrast between Alexander’s haunting voice and the music that accompanies it.

Run Run Vanguard’s first album features aggressive rhythms and themes about Aids and incest as well as romantic-melancholic stories and melodies about love and redemption. “Suck Success” can definitely be regarded as a representative cross-section of the band repertoire of the last few years, tested live again and again for its audience appeal and constantly improved.

What I like best is “Taga Sa Jug” sung in Macedonian, a story about a writer in Russian exile, with which Alexander pays tribute to his mother tongue in a most remarkable way. But also the other texts, all of them written by Veljanov, are hardly inferior to my favourite. Even though there are only eight tracks on the album, which was recorded partly on his own and partly with the help of the English success producer Dave Young, the playing time of a conventional full-length release is reached, which is mainly due to the fact that Run Run Vanguard “don’t follow the stopwatch”, as Alexander cautiously expresses himself.

The quartet explains the long wait for the release of a debut of this quality in their own words with their “inability to make friends with certain remarkable rules of the music business”. However, I wouldn’t regard this as a mistake, because “Suck Success” has become a perfectly successful work by a democratically oriented band, even if it does not represent a concept album Marke Deine Lakaien.

Personal experiences and adventures are presented here in a contrasting and at the same time versatile and independent way, under a completely different musical perspective than e.g. Qntal or Deine Lakaien, who, however, also come up with a new release already in October. But also beyond this time it seems to me to be reasonable to follow the further development of Run Run Vanguard with excitement.

Run Run Vanguard
ZILLO 9/1993 - Frank Keil

Sänger Alexander Veljanov (Deine Lakaien) ist ein vielbeschäftigter Musiker, der, wenn er sich einmal nicht den Lakaien widmet, mit so interessanten Nebenprojekten wie der Band Run Run Vanguard aufwartet. Anläßlich der Veröffentlichung ihres Debüts „Suck Success“ (mit Coverreminiszenz an Velvet Underground) schien uns ein Blick hinter die Kulissen des Berliner Quartetts mehr als lohnenswert.

Run Run Vanguard sind zwar deutlich im Bereich Gitarrenrock anzusiedeln, verstehen sich nach Auskunft ihres Sängers aber durchaus nicht als Gothic-Rockband. Die 1988 gegründete und seit Dezember 1990 in der Besetzung Tim Arndt (Baß), Doc P. Bohge (Gitarre), Werner Engel (Schlagzeug) und Alexander Veljanov (Stimme) agierende Gruppe stößt ganz im Gegenteil auch in andere zeitgemäße musikalische Bereiche der Gitarrenmusik (z.B. Grunge) vor und lebt dabei vor allem vom Kontrast zwischen Alexanders eindringlicher Stimme und der ihn begleitenden Musik.

Run Run Vanguard warten auf ihrem Erstling gleichermaßen mit aggressiven Rhythmen und Themen über Aids und Inzest, wie auch mit romantisch-melancholischen Geschichten und Melodien um Liebe und Erlösung auf. „Suck Success“ kann definitiv als repräsentativer Querschnitt des Bandrepertoires der letzten Jahre angesehen werden, live immer wieder auf seine Publikumwirksamkeit erprobt und ständig verbessert.

Am besten gefällt mir dabei das auf mazedonisch gesungene „Taga Sa Jug“, eine Geschichte über einen Schriftsteller im russischen Exil, mit dem Alexander seiner Muttersprache höchst bemerkenswert Tribut zollt. Aber auch die anderen, alle von Veljanov stammenden Texte stehen meinem Favoriten kaum nach. Auch wenn sich nur acht Stücke auf dem teils in Eigenregie, teils unter der Mithilfe des englischen Erfolgsproduzenten Dave Young eingespielten Albums befinden, wird die Spielzeit einer herkömmlichen Full-Length-Veröffentlichung erreicht, was vor allem daran liegt, daß sich Run Run Vanguard bei ihren Stücken „nicht nach der Stoppuhr richten“, wie sich Alexander behutsam ausdrückt.

Das lange Warten auf die Veröffentlichung eines Debüts dieser Qualität erklärt das Quartett in eigenen Worten mit ihrer „Unfähigkeit, sich mit gewissen bemerkenswerten Spielregeln des Musikgeschäftes anzufreunden“. Allerdings würde ich das nicht als Fehler betrachten, denn „Suck Success“ ist ein perfekt gelungenes Werk einer demokratisch ausgerichteten Band geworden, auch wenn es kein Konzeptalbum Marke Deine Lakaien repräsentiert.

Persönliche Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse werden hier kontrastreich und zugleich vielseitig und eigenständig präsentiert, unter einer gänzlich anderen musikalischen Perspektive als z.B. bei Qntal oder Deine Lakaien, die allerdings bereits im Oktober ebenfalls mit einer neuen Veröffentlichung aufwarten. Aber auch über diese Zeit hinaus erscheint es mir sinnvoll, die weitere Entwicklung von Run Run Vanguard mit Spannung zu verfolgen.


  Top