Release Information 1997

Silence: Ma Non Troppo

Studio-Album

If you believe silence and music don’t go together, you haven’t heard of SILENCE.SILENCE, that’s the two Slovenians Boris Benko and Primoz Hladnik. Their band is part of a small circle of musicians which formed in the Slovenian capital Ljubljana’s underground scene during the last years. Until that point, electronic music was basically non-existant in Slovenia. In 1994, comic artist Benko and his friend Primoz, who came from classical piano tuition, decided to fill the void.

Silence 1997

As Slovenia is a small tradition-conscious country, the two unconventional musicians soon discovered that the local music scene hadn´t exactly been waiting for them. On the opposite: From their very first performances on the band was confronted with massive displeasure at their purely electronic arrangements. To silence the upset audience, the band placed an electric guitarist on stage, who, unplugged, just pretended to play. Nevertheless, such pranks were not really what the two musicians would be forever content with.

Lacking the necessary means of production, to produce an album seemed future dreams, so Benko and Primoz mainly concentrated on songwriting. When SILENCE all the sudden were asked to contribute to a Slovenian sampler, consisting of Elvis Presley covers, they had no idea that exactly this would give them international attention. Their curious version of “The girl of my best friend” focused attention on them and finally led to cooperation with Chrom Records.

Produced by Peter Penko (April Nine, Coptic Rain, Laibach), the debut album “Ma Non Troppo” is the first fruit of this cooperation. Held in cool club-tempo, it presents a choice of early material and brandnew songs. And the Slovenians don’t shy away from playing around with the zeitgeist: sounds of the Nineties are used as well as psychedelic analoguesounds meet dancefloor elements. Though being catchy, their music is much too peculiar to be nice. What SILENCE create is a crossover of modern club culture.

What finally makes SILENCE special is not only their richness of ideas and musical talent, they also have their own unique humour, either sarcastic or charming, depending on your point of view. Anyway, a welcome contrast to the slick monotony of the pop scene!

Silence Slovenia


Track list:
  • Samuel's Gabriel
  • La Troia
  • The Rain
  • Neglected
  • In your name
  • The Girl of my best Friend
  • I love you
  • The Player
  • Kraljestvo Macjih Oci
  • Quasi Vestna
  • I'm a memory

  Top

Release Information 1997

Silence: Ma Non Troppo

Studio-Album

Wer glaubt, Stille und Musik passen nicht zusammen, hat noch nichts von Silence gehört. SILENCE, das sind die beiden Slowenen Boris Benko und Primoz Hladnik. Mit ihrer Band gehören sie zu einem kleinen Kreis von Musikern, der sich in den letzten Jahren im Underground der slowenischen Hauptstadt Ljubljana gebildet hat. Ihr Weg dahin war jedoch nicht einfach. 1994 beschlossen Comiczeichner Benko und Pianist Primoz, das kulturelle Leben Ljubljanas durch ein Pop-Projekt zu bereichern, das sich ganz und gar der elektronischen Klangerzeugung verschrieben hatte.

Silence 1997

Slowenien ist ein kleines traditionsbewußtes Land und die beiden eigenwilligen Musiker mußten bald erkennen, dass die heimische Musikwelt nicht auf sie gewartet hatte. Im Gegenteil: Schon bei ihren ersten Auftritten stieß die Band auf massiven Widerstand beim slowenischen Publikum, das sich an dem rein elektronischen Arrangement ihrer Songs störte. Um das Publikum zu besänftigen, stellte die Band bei Konzerten kurzerhand einen E-Gitarristen auf die Bühne, der ohne eingestecktes Kabel das Spielen vortäuschte. Doch den elektronischen Pionierdrang des Duos konnten solche Späße natürlich nicht befriedigen.

Ohne die nötigen Produktionsmittel waren Plattenaufnahmen allerdings noch weit entfernt, und so konzentrierten sich die zwei Musiker auf das Komponieren. Als SILENCE plötzlich eingeladen wurden, einen Beitrag auf einer slowenischen Compilation zu leisten, die nur aus Coverversionen von Elvis Presley-Songs bestehen sollte, ahnten sie nicht, daß sie ausgerechnet damit internationale Beachtung finden würden. Ihre eigenwillig-schräge Interpretation von „The girl of my best friend“ lenkte die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Arbeit der kreativen Querköpfe und führte schließlich zur Zusammenarbeit mit Chrom Records.

Das Debut Album „Ma Non Troppo“, produziert von Peter Penko (April Nine, Coptic Rain, Laibach), ist die ersteFrucht dieser Zusammenarbeit. In coolem Club-Tempo stellt das Duo darauf eine Auswahl eines frühen Materials in Kombination mit brandneuen Songs vor. Und die Slowenen spielen mit dem Zeitgeist: Frech bedienen sie sich der Stilelemente der 90er Jahre, setzen psychedelische Analogsounds neben eigenwillige Zitate aus dem Dancefloor und meistern so mühelos die Gratwanderung zwischen Pop und elektronischem Experiment. Trotz Eingängigkeit der Songs klingt ihre Musik viel zu schräg, um dabei wirklich gefällig zu sein. SILENCE schaffen ein Crossover moderner Club-Culture. Eine Mischung, die süchtig macht!

SILENCE glänzen jedoch nicht nur durch Ideenreichtum und musikalisches Können, die Band besitzt auch einen eigenen Humor, der sarkastisch wirken mag, aber sich wohltuend von der glatten Coolness der Szene abhebt. Und das allein macht sie schon sympathisch.

Silence Slovenia


Titel-Liste:
  • Samuel's Gabriel
  • La Troia
  • The Rain
  • Neglected
  • In your name
  • The Girl of my best Friend
  • I love you
  • The Player
  • Kraljestvo Macjih Oci
  • Quasi Vestna
  • I'm a memory

  Top