Release Information 1999

Silence: Unlike a Virgin

Studio-Album

…lots of good reviews… :)

translation www.deepl.com

ORKUS:

There are many records that are reasonably good. Some are even very good. And then there are sometimes, no more than maybe once or twice a year, records that are a real stroke of luck. Albums that not only fill our ears, but in a strange way our whole being. They surprise us with every note and at the same time sound so conclusive that you have the feeling that you have waited all your life for this melody sequence. “Unlike A Virgin”, the second album of the Slovenian duo Silence, is one such album. On their weird and catchy debut “Ma Non Troppo” (1997), the musicians proved that pop isn’t pop, but with their new release, singer Boris Benko and his colleague Primoz Hladnik put one more thing on top. They dare more, have become even more complex, eccentric and intense, and in some cases harder and more aggressive. Soft melodies combine on “Unlike A Virgin” with noisy and noisy passages, contrasts merge into a harmonious whole, and the beguiling singing - sometimes purring, sometimes begging, sometimes angry-demanding - clouds the senses like a drug. That may sound pathetic, but in my opinion the album justifies even the greatest exuberance. After “Unlike A Virgin”, which has nothing to do with Madonna by the way, you definitely can’t get past Silence anymore!
(10 points)

Colette Stritzke

Artos 11/99

Dark, aggressive, without belonging in the goth corner. Silence is somehow different, harder, more gripping and yet clearly rooted in the wave. I’m especially taken with the increased use of rather nasty synthi sounds, which almost shred the loudspeaker. A very atmospheric disc, yet destructive. This band does not seek consensus but confrontation. And she doesn’t care who falls by the wayside. There is no reconciliation here. Somehow between Deine Lakaien and Kraftwerk, but completely independent. A disc without weak points, anything but quiet and with “Scream, Greeneyes…” there is also a catchy tune that could make its way into the discotheques. My personal favorite is “4-2”, which leaves no questions left. You’re just flat after this CD.

Norbert Sonderfeld


BODYSTYLER 12/99:

How can you describe an album with words if it actually beats the language? All I can do is try: The Slovenians Boris Benko and Primoz Hladnik set new standards with their second album. If one could confidently describe the debut as synth pop with an inclination to slope, “Unlike a virgin” can only be described as a weird but nevertheless melodic style conglomerate. Like acrobats - without net and double bottom - Benko and Hladnik fly from trapeze to trapeze and pass different popular music styles. Big beats, hard guitars, distorted frequencies and double bass - no musical means is spared. Each song is a hike between melancholy and aggression, well supported by Benko’s stirring emotional singing. And despite all the stylistic and emotional baths, harmony is always a star in the ring.

Stefan Brunner

WRATH.DE:

… Dynamic, melodic, excellently produced - you have to reach deep into the box with positive adjectives. Silence are Dark Pop at it’s best. Sometimes quite synth-poppy, sometimes fierce, but always good. Imagine a crossroads of Depeche Mode in the late 80s, Spahn Ranch and NIN/Marylin Manson… doesn’t exist? I suppose there is! If Depeche Mode hadn’t thrown so much drugs and concentrated more on their musical skills, they might be making music like Silence today. But only maybe. However, “Unlike a virgin” is one of the best albums in this music sector this year and has the undeniable advantage of not being boring even after the tenth listening. A contribution to this is made by the singer’s voice, which is very characteristic and covers the wide range of musical demands. There are no hints, because everything is good.
TIP of the month!

AJR 12/99

RAGAZZI:

Tip! The title of the Simon & Garfunkel classic “The Sound of Silence” gets a completely new meaning from the point of view of the new album of the Slovenian band Silence. If, after their first album in 1997, the duo was still quite unanimously placed in the Synthipop drawer, this classification can no longer be maintained in 1999. The sound of Silence is far too broad, far too colourful, far too varied and above all far too independent to have to stand up to any comparisons. If other bands from the synthi- and electro environment consistently follow the path of the apparently perfect harmony and the more and more unadorned melodies, Silence have long since broken out of this knitting pattern. Their songs leave enough room for experimentation and a producer like Peter Penko (Coptic Rain, Laibach) brought creativity and the joy of experimentation to unimagined sound qualities. Almost all varieties of modern electronic music can be found on “Unlike A Virgin”. Trip hop, breakbeats, a few decent guitars and above all contemporary electrosounds give every song an unmistakable face and a tremendous expressive power. Sometimes it may sound a bit strange and distorted and even for vocal excesses there is enough room. Because unlike many others, singer Boris Benko is allowed to express feelings other than melancholy with his voice, to shout aggressively, scream desperately, whisper mysteriously or croak exhaustedly. Whether at home or in the club, songs for every mood can be found on “Unlike A Virgin”. And so you can find yourself in the title, depending on your state of health. Silence sound authentic and honest, that also makes this disc something very special.

Lars Schmidt

ONSTAGE.DE

“Unlike A Virgin” - of course, after all, this CD is not the Slovenian band’s debut. That was years ago and was stylistically still clearly what is called synthie pop (only better). The duo has not stopped since then. On the contrary. They have evolved and conjured up an early masterpiece with “Unlike A Virgin”. In 1999, the sound of the two musicians combined several influences to an independent and unmistakable greatness. Of course there are still some small weaknesses here and there, but the emotional depth and the dense intensity of the group is beyond any doubt. Silence fly weightlessly and high from the depths of life through the ancestral gallery of really good music (David Bowie, Depeche Mode, etc.) and analyze the impressions of the past with the theories of Trip Hop, Grunge and Industrial. The voice of singer Benko has that certain manic something in the voice that only Mike Patton (FNM) has represented credibly so far. In the context of the sometimes claustrophobic, oppressive, then reconciliatory harmonic sound, REALLY FANTASTIC. Silence are on their way. That much is certain.
(Record of the month)

Jochen Raithel

ZILLO:

When the Slovenians Boris Benko and Primoz Hladnik released their debut album “Ma Non Troppo” in 1997, the ongoing revival of the classic 80s synthiepop finally received the shot of creativity and progressiveness that the countless epigones, who could at best copy the 80s sound, but had no songwriter qualities of their own, had so far lacked. What Silence spiced up in such a stimulating way on their debut album with a good portion of experimentation in the matter of electronic sounds, experiences an interesting continuation on their successor. Now the duo blends their mature compositions with hard breakbeats, noisy industrial sounds and still haunting pop harmonies, making “Unlike A Virgin” a versatile listening pleasure full of surprises once again.

Dirk Hoffmann

inMUSIC:

The Slovenians Boris Benko (vocals) and Primoz Hladnik (instruments) aka Silence are regarded by experts as innovators of synth pop. In fact, the songs of “Unlike A Virgin” are good fuel for the floors. The two sound researchers have underlaid their tracks with all kinds of beats, loops and roboovices. If you just want to listen to the melodies, Silence welcomes you.

Ute Railway

Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung:

You can read it in the booklet: “No animals were injured during the recording of this CD”. I don’t think so. Instead, the Slovenians Hladnik & Benko have tortured synthesizers, sample machines and computers to the core. The result is successful, their album “Unlike A Virgin” is one of the most versatile records that the electro scene has recently produced. The two sound inventors are not even limited to synthetic sounds. In the background a double bass pulsates, cellos and violinists form a flowing carpet, which is suddenly cut up by Metallica-like electric guitars. The whole thing is carried by weird and shrill breakbeats, which never seem obtrusive and never displace the reserved voice of singer Benko. So where to place it? Silence combine TripHop with Electro, Jazz with Techno and Synthie-Pop with Heavy Metal - Silence, so one can say without exaggeration, have made their own drawer. The work is certainly not simple, multiple listening is necessary. At least when you want to be surprised over and over again. Tips on how to play: “The Fifth Element”, “Barbara”, “Something”.

Lars Pennigsdorf

Sound world:

Well, who’s making fun of my esteemed Madonna? Such an outrage. But the two are allowed to, because whoever delivers such a great record, can also blaspheme. After the debut album “Ma Non Troppo” the two Slovenians now send 11 more little pearls after them. Here it is very difficult to classify them, because if one were to say electro-pop, it would be much too easy, since one would assign a lot of their sounds and rhythms much more to other genres. Have you ever heard how it sounds when you present Industrial a la P.A.L.L, mixed with A-ha? Sounds silly? Well, let’s have a listen to “Barbara”. The pieces are arranged very lovingly, and at every corner a surprise awaits the listener, for example by recording completely new melody sections during the song or completely unexpected breaks and/or guitar interludes. In this area, the best thing that has come between my fingers for a long time.

OBLIVION Metal Magazine 12/99

What the two Slovenes are doing really doesn’t sound virginal. On their second album they present us a sophisticated intelligent fusion of synthi pop, break beat, trip hop and wave. And if you think (just like me first): Leave me satisfied with this electro, there are no guitars in there, you should listen to this CD and broaden your horizon. Silence are not a 08/15 synthi-pop band. Silence become a spider that lures you into its web with its media, its variety and its perfect arrangements. Especially singer Boris Benko is able to inspire with his voice. He can sing really well, especially not as narrow-gauged as his synthie colleagues. And it doesn’t shy away from louder, different sounds and effect devices either. Well, how can you say, this music is universal…..

SH

MUCKE AND MORE Online-Mag:

After the grandiose debut “Ma Non Troppo” the two boys of Silence now release “Unlike A Virgin”, their successor. The Slovenes have evolved. The debut was still in synth pop of the quiet, sound-intensive kind, but now you still get to deal with great sounds, but the music has become a lot harder. Besides synthiepop, the album is not less influenced by other styles like trip hop or industrial-electro, much more powerful than the first album, more experimental, more surprising. The songs are therefore even more varied, but I don’t know if anyone who loves “Ma Non Troppo” can also get along with this album, which doesn’t go into their ears that easily and stays there. You will find everything from quiet to noisy pieces in any case. Peter Penko (Ljubljana, Coptic Rain) has produced again, and in this point the highest level is offered again. A development is always better than stagnation, and even if the calmness of my debut was perhaps a bit more to my liking, this record has become really good again, you just have to listen to it and also be open to harder sounds.
8 points

Tobias Matkowitz


Track list:
  • Son of Sin
  • Drive
  • Scream
  • Greeneyes
  • Etwas
  • The Fifth Elephant
  • Barbara
  • God Forsaken Country
  • Heavy Straighter
  • Nevermind The Bastard
  • 4-2
  • P.S.
  Top

Release Information 1999

Silence: Unlike a Virgin

Studio-Album

…Unmengen guter Reviews… :)

ORKUS:

Es gibt viele Platten, die einigermaßen gut sind. Einige sind sogar sehr gut. Und dann gibt es manchmal, nicht öfter als vielleicht ein- bis zweimal im Jahr, Platten, die einen wahren Glücksfall darstellen. Alben, die nicht nur unser Ohr, sondern auf seltsame Weise unser ganzes Sein erfüllen. Die uns mit jedem Ton überraschen und doch gleichzeitig so schlüssig klingen, daß man das Gefühl hat, man hätte sein Leben lang nur auf diese Melodiefolge gewartet. „Unlike A Virgin“, das zweite Album des slowenischen Duos Silence, ist so ein Album. Schon auf ihrem schräg-eingängigen Debut „Ma Non Troppo“ (1997) bewiesen die Musiker zwar, daß Pop längst nicht gleich Pop ist, doch mit ihrer neuen Veröffentlichung legen Sänger Boris Benko und sein Kollege Primoz Hladnik noch eins drauf. Sie wagen mehr, sind noch vielschichtiger, exzentrischer und intensiver, zum Teil auch harscher und aggressiver geworden. Sanfte Melodien verbinden sich auf „Unlike A Virgin“ mit krachigen und lärmenden Passagen, Gegensätze verschmelzen abseits herkömmlicher Eingängigkeit zu einem harmonischen Ganzen, und der betörende Gesang - mal säuselnd, mal bettelnd, mal wütend-fordernd - benebelt einer Droge gleich die Sinne. Das mag pathetisch klingen, doch das Album rechtfertigt in meinen Augen jeden noch so großen Überschwang. Nach „Unlike A Virgin“, mit Madonna hat das übrigens nichts zu tun, kommt man an Silence definitiv nicht mehr vorbei!
(10 Punkte)

Colette Stritzke


Artos 11/99

Dunkel, aggressiv, ohne in die Grufti-Ecke zu gehören. Silence ist irgendwie anders, härter, zupackender und dennoch eindeutig im Wave verwurzelt. Besonders angetan bin ich von dem verstärkten Einsatz ziemlich fieserSynthi-Sounds, die einem fast den Lautsprecher fetzen. Eine sehr atmosphärische Scheibe, die dennoch zerstörerisch ist. Diese Band sucht nicht den Konsens sondern die Konfrontation. Und ihr ist es egal, wer dabei auf der Strecke bleibt. Hier gibt es keinerlei Versöhnung. Irgendwie zwischen Deine Lakaien und Kraftwerk, aber vollkommen eigenständig. Eine Scheibe ohne Schwachpunkte, alles andere als still und mit“Scream, Greeneyes…“ gibt es zudem noch einen Ohrwurm, der den Weg in die Diskotheken schaffen könnte. Mein persönlicher Favorit ist „4-2“, der keinerlei Fragen mehr übrigläßt. Man ist nach dieser CD einfach platt.

Norbert Sonderfeld


BODYSTYLER 12/99:

Wie soll man ein Album mit Worten beschreiben, wenn dieses einem eigentlich die Sprache verschlägt? Mir bleibt nur der Versuch: Die beiden Slowenen Boris Benko und Primoz Hladnik setzen mit ihrem zweiten Album neue Maßstäbe. Konnte man das Debüt getrost als Synthie-Pop mit Hang zum Schrägen bezeichnen, ist “Unlike a virgin” nur noch als schräges aber trotzdem melodisches Stil-Konglomerat zu bezeichnen. Wie Akrobaten – ohne Netz und doppelten Boden – fliegen Benko und Hladnik von Trapez zu Trapez und passieren dabei verschiedenste populäre Musikstile. Big Beats, harte Gitarren, verzerrte Frequenzer und Double Bass – kein musikalisches Mittel wird gescheut. Jedes Lied ist eine Wanderung zwischen Melancholie und Aggressivität, bestens unterstützt von Benkos mitreißend emotionalem Gesang. Und trotz aller stilistischer und emotionaler Wechselbäder ist die Harmonie immer Star in der Manege.

Stefan Brunner

WRATH.DE:

… Dynamisch, melodisch, ausgezeichnet produziert - man muß schon tief in die Kiste mit positiven Adjektiven greifen. Silence sind Dark Pop at it’s best. Mal recht synth-poppig, mal heftig, aber immer gut. Stellt euch eine Kreuzung aus DeMo Ende der 80er, Spahn Ranch und NIN/ Marylin Manson vor… gibt’s nicht? Gibt’s wohl! Hätten DeMo nicht so viel Drogen geworfen und sich mehr auf ihr musikalisches Können konzentriert, würden sie vielleicht heute Musik wie Silence machen. Aber auch nur vielleicht. Wie dem auch sei, „Unlike a virgin“ ist eines der besten Alben auf diesem Musiksektor in diesem Jahr und hat den unbestreitbaren Vorteil, auch nach dem zehnten Mal Hören nicht langweilig zu sein. Einen Beitrag hierzu leistet die Stimme des Sängers, die sehr charakteristisch ist und die große Bandbreite abdeckt, die musikalisch gefordert wird. Anspieltips gibt’s keine, weil einfach alles gut ist.
TIP des Monats!

AJR 12/99

RAGAZZI:

Tip! - Eine völlig neue Bedutung bekommt der Titel des Simon & Garfunkel Klassikers „The Sound of Silence“ unter dem Gesichtspunkt des neuen Albums der slowenischen Band Silence. Wurde das Duo nach ihrem Erstling 1997 noch recht einstimmig in die Schublade Synthipop verfrachtet, kann man diese Einordnung anno 1999 nicht mehr aufrecht halten. Der Sound von Silence ist viel zu breit gefächert, viel zu bunt, viel zu abwechslungsreich und vor allem viel zu eigenständig, um irgendwelchen Vergleichen standhalten zu müssen. Verfolgen andere Bands aus dem Synthi- und Electroumfeld konsequent den Weg der scheinbar perfekten Harmonie und der immer schnörkelloseren Melodien, so sind Silence aus diesem Strickmuster längst ausgebrochen. Ihre Songs lassen genug Platz zum Experimentieren und ein Produzent wie Peter Penko (Coptic Rain, Laibach) brachte Kreativität und Experimentierfreude zu ungeahnten Klangqualitäten. So finden sich fast alle Spielarten der modernen elektronischen Musik auf „Unlike A Virgin“ wieder. Trip Hop, Breakbeats, ein paar dezente Gitarren und vor allem zeitgemäße Electrosounds verleihen jedem Song ein unverwechselbares Gesicht und eine ungeheure Ausdrduckskraft. Da darf es auch mal etwas schräg und verzerrt klingen und sogar für stimmliche Exzesse ist genügen Raum vorhanden. Denn anders als bei vielen anderen darf Sänger Boris Benko mit seiner Stimme außer Melancholie auch andere Gefühle ausdrücken, darf aggressiv brüllen, verzweifelt schreien, geheimnisvoll flüstern oder erschöpft krächzen. Ob daheim oder im Club, auf „Unlike A Virgin“ finden sich Songs für jede Stimmungslage. Und so kann man sich, je nach Befinden, in den Titel wiederfinden. Silence klingen authentisch und ehrlich, auch das macht diese Scheibe zu etwas ganz Besonderem.

Lars Schmidt

ONSTAGE.DE

„Unlike A Virgin“ - klar, schließlich handelt es sich bei der vorliegenden CD der slowenischen Formation nicht um deren Debüt. Das liegt Jahre zurück und war stilistisch noch deutlich das, was man Synthie Pop nennt (nur besser). Das Duo ist seitdem nicht stehen geblieben. Ganz im Gegenteil. Sie haben sich weiterentwickelt und mit „Unlike A Virgin“ ein frühes Meisterwerk gezaubert. Der Sound der beiden Musiker vereint 1999 mehrere Einflüsse zu einer eigenständigen und unverwechselbaren Größe. Klar gibt es hier und da noch kleine Schwächen, doch die emotionale Tiefe und die dichte Intensität der Gruppe ist über jeden Zweifel erhaben. Silence fliegen schwerelos und high von den Tiefen des Lebens durch die Ahnengalerie der wirklich guten Musik (David Bowie, Depeche Mode, etc.) und analysieren die Eindrücke der Vergangenheit mit den Theorien von Trip Hop, Grunge und Industrial. Die Stimme von Sänger Benko verfügt über das gewisse manische Etwas in der Stimme, das bislang nur Mike Patton (FNM) glaubwürdig vertrat. Im Kontext des mal klaustrophobischen, beklemmenden, dann wieder versöhnend harmonischen Sounds klingt das GAAANZ GROSS. Silence gehen ihren Weg. So viel ist sicher.
(Platte des Monats)

Jochen Raithel

ZILLO:

Als die beiden Slowenen Boris Benko und Primoz Hladnik 1997 ihr Debütalbum „Ma Non Troppo“ veröffentlichten, erhielt das andauernde Revival des klassischen Achziger-Synthiepops endlich den Schuß an Kreativität und Progressivität, den die zahllosen Epigonen, die allenfalls den 80er-Jahre-Sound kopieren konnten, aber keine eigenen Songwriterqualitäten aufwiesen, bislang vermissen ließen. Was Silence auf ihrem Debütalbum mit einer gehörigen Portion Experimentierfreudigkeit in Sachen elektronischer Sounds auf so anregende Weise würzten, erfährt auf dem Nachfolger eine interessante Weiterführung. Nun verschmilzt das Duo seine ausgereiften Kompositionen mit harten Breakbeats, noisigen Industrial-Sounds und weiterhin eindringlichen Pop-Harmonien und machen „Unlike A Virgin“ so zu einem wieder mal vielseitigen, voller Überraschungen steckenden Hörvergnügen.

Dirk Hoffmann

inMUSIC:

Die beiden Slowenen Boris Benko (Gesang) und Primoz Hladnik (Instrumente) aka Silence werden in Fachkreisen als Erneuerer des Synthie-Pop gehandelt. Tatsächlich sind die Songs von „Unlike A Virgin“ guter Treibstoff für die Floors. Die beiden Klangforscher haben ihre Tracks mit allerlei Beats, Loops und Robovoices unterlegt. Wer einfach nur den Melodien lauschen will, ist bei Silence selbstverständlich auch herzlich willkommen.

Ute Bahn

Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung:

Im Booklet kann man es nachlesen: „Während der Aufnahmen zu dieser CD wurden keine Tiere verletzt.“ Das sicher nicht. Stattdessen haben die beiden Slowenen Hladnik & Benko Synthesizer, Sample-Maschinen und Computer bis aufs Blut gequält. Das Resultat ist gelungen, ihr Album „Unlike A Virgin“ gehört zu den vielseitigsten Scheiben, die die Elektro-Szene in jüngster Zeit hervorgebracht hat. Dabei beschränken sich die beiden Sound-Tüftler noch nicht einmal auf synthetische Klänge. Im Hintergrund pulsiert ein Kontrabass, Celli und Geiger bilden einen fließenden Teppich, der urplötzlich von Metallica-ähnlichen Stromgitarren zerschnitten wird. Getragen wird das Ganze von schräg-schrillen Breakbeats, die allerdings nie aufdringlich wirken und die zurückhaltende Stimme von Sänger Benko zu keiner Zeit verdrängen. Also wo einordnen? Silence kombinieren TripHop mit Elektro, Jazz mit Techno und Synthie-Pop mit Heavy Metal - Silence, so kann man ohne Übertreibung sagen, haben sich eine eigene Schublade gezimmert. Einfach ist das Werk sicher nicht, mehrfaches Anhören tut Not. Zumindest dann, wenn man sich immer wieder aufs Neue überraschen lassen möchte. Anspieltipps: „The Fifth Element“, „Barbara“, „Etwas“.

Lars Pennigsdorf

Klangwelt:

Na wer macht sich denn da über meine hoch geschätzte Madonna lustig? So ein Frevel. Aber die beiden dürfen das, denn wer so eine tolle Platte abliefert, kann auch ruhig mal lästern. Nach dem Debut-Album „Ma Non Troppo“ schicken die beiden Slowenen nun also 11 weitere, kleine Perlchen hinterher. Hier fällt eine Zuordnung äußerst schwer, denn würde man Electro-Pop dazu sagen, wäre das viel zu einfach, da man sehr viele ihrer Klänge und Rhythmen viel eher anderen Genres zuordnen würde. Habt ihr schon mal gehört wie das klingt, wenn man Industrial a la P.A.L, gemixt mit A-ha präsentiert? Klingt doof? Na dann mal in „Barbara“ reinlauschen. Die Stücke sind sehr liebevoll arrangiert, und an jeder Ecke wartet eine Überraschung auf den Hörer, etwa durch das Einspielen von ganz neuen Melodieabschnitten während des Songs oder völlig unerwarteten Breaks und/oder Gitarreneinlagen. In diesem Bereich das beste, was mir seit langem zwischen die Finger geraten ist.

OBLIVION Metal Magazin 12/99

Jungfräulich klingt das wirklich nicht, was die beiden Slowenen da treiben. Auf ihrem zweiten Album präsentieren sie uns eine ausgklügelte intelligente Verschmelzung von Synthi Pop, Break Beat, trip Hop und Wave. Und wer jetzt denkt (genau wie ich zuerst): Laß mich doch mit diesem Elektro zufrieden, da sind ja gar keine Gitarren drin, der sollte sich diese CD anhören und seinen Horizont erweitern. Silence sind keine 08/15 Synthi-Pop Band. Silence werden zur Spinne, die Dich mit ihren Medodien, ihrem Abwechslungsreichtum und ihren perfekten Arrangements in ihr Netz lockt. Besonders Sänger Boris Benko vermag mit seiner Stimme zu begeistern. Der kann nämlich richtig gut singen, vor allen dingen nicht so schmalspurig wie seine Synthie-Kollegen. Und er schreckt auch nicht vor lauteren, anderen Tönen und vor Effektgeräten zurück. Tja, wie soll man sagen, diese Musik ist letztlich universell….

SH

MUCKE UND MEHR Online-Mag:

Nach dem grandiosen Debüt „Ma Non Troppo“ veröffentlichen die beiden Jungs von Silence nun mit „Unlike A Virgin“ den Nachfolger. Die Slowenen haben sich weiterentwickelt. Lag das Debüt noch im Synthiepop der ruhigen, soundintensiven Art, so bekommt man es nun zwar immer noch mit tollen Sounds zu tun, jedoch ist die Musik um einiges härter geworden. Neben Synthiepop ist die Scheibe in nicht viel geringerem Maß auch von anderen Stilen wie TripHop oder Industrial-Elektro geprägt, viel kraftvoller als der Erstling, experimenteller, überraschender. Die Songs sind somit noch abwechslungsreicher, ich weiß aber nicht, ob sich jeder, der „Ma Non Troppo“ liebt, auch mit dieser Scheibe anfreunden kann, die bei weitem nicht so leicht ins Ohr geht und dort bleibt. Man findet von ruhigen bis zu lauten Stücken in jedem Fall alles. Produziert hat wieder Peter Penko (Laibach, Coptic Rain), und in diesem Punkt wird auch wieder höchstes Niveau geboten. Eine Entwicklung ist immer besser als Stillstand, und auch wenn mir die Ruhe des Debüts vielleicht einen Tick mehr gelegen hat, diese Scheibe ist durchaus wieder richtig gut geworden, man muß sich nur ins sie reinhören und auch gegenüber härteren Tönen offen sein.
8 Punkte

Tobias Matkowitz


Titel-Liste:
  • Son of Sin
  • Drive
  • Scream
  • Greeneyes
  • Etwas
  • The Fifth Elephant
  • Barbara
  • God Forsaken Country
  • Heavy Straighter
  • Nevermind The Bastard
  • 4-2
  • P.S.

  Top