Cover War
Studio-Album – The Eternal Afflict

War

Studio-Album
Released: 1994

Track list

  • Tranceworld
  • War Child
  • Third World War Avenue
  • Thank the Lord
  • Childhood
  • Jonathan
  • Song of Faith
  • Freedom
  • A Day in May
  • Sacred War Machine
  • Fractured Mirror

WAR - in the past, present and future - is the theme of the third longplayer (and first on Chrom Records) of the band The Eternal Afflict, which has been in existence since 1989. Many songs on the album again have this inimitable hymnal character, which is now underlined by the selective use of women’s vocals and range from the typical T.E.A. sound to futuristic sound profiles to electro ballads. The songs “Childhood” and “Warchild” are meanwhile real club classics of the EBM/Wave.

Once again the Essen formation around singer Cyan, keyboarder and composer Mark and producer Winus Rilinger offers clear Statements about today’s social situation. They do not mince their words: singer Cyan, who in all pieces of the CD tells a very personal, sometimes sarcastic story from is very own perspective - and thus from his own world of feelings and opinions - makes an impressive attempt to put himself in the shoes of the victims of the war.

Marc + Cyan (The Eternal Afflict) - Photo ar/gee gleim

Marc + Cyan Photo ar/gee gleim

Like a leitmotif, the description of individual fates shaped by the war runs through the plate. On this “World War Avenue” one encounters all the horror and misery, destroyed existences, chaos, children who have lost their laughter.

The record is also a critical statement on the power aspirations of racism and religion and their desert and fanatical followers, which repeatedly leads to violence and war.

The musical realization shows once again how important it is that text and music complement each other, set each other in scene. Thus the songs partly receive anthem character, which is underlined by the purposefully used female singing.

The Eternal Afflict enter new musical territory, the pieces have become more fluid and varied and range from the typical T.E.A. sound to futuristic sound profiles and electro ballads.

    Studio-Album
    Released: 1994

    Track list

    • Tranceworld
    • War Child
    • Third World War Avenue
    • Thank the Lord
    • Childhood
    • Jonathan
    • Song of Faith
    • Freedom
    • A Day in May
    • Sacred War Machine
    • Fractured Mirror

    The Eternal Afflict  ... Select other artist:


    The Eternal Afflict
    Releases at
    Chrom Records:

War

CD 1994


War

Studio-Album

KRIEG - in Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft - ist das Thema des dritten Longplayers (und ersten bei Chrom Records) der seit 1989 bestehenden Band The Eternal Afflict. Viele Songs auf dem Album haben in wieder diesen unnachahmlichen Hymnencharakter, was durch den gezielt eingesetzten Frauengesang jetzt noch unterstrichen wird und reichen vom typischen T.E.A.-Sound über futuristische Soundgefilde bis hin zur Elektro-Ballade. Die Songs „Childhood“ und „Warchild“ sind mittlerweile echte Club-Klassiker des EBM/Wave.

Wieder einmal wartet die Essener Formation um Sänger Cyan, Keyboarder und Komponisten Mark und Produzenten Winus Rilinger mit eindeutigen Statements zur heutigen gesellschaftlichen Situation auf. Dabei nehmen sie kein Blatt vor den Mund: Sänger Cyan, welcher in allen Stücken der CD sehr persönlich, teilweise sarkastisch aus der „Ich“-Perspektive - und damit seiner eigenen Gefühls- und Meinungswelt - erzählt, unternimmt hier den beeindruckenden Versuch, sich in die Gefühlswelt der Opfer des Krieges hineinzuversetzen.

Wie ein roter Faden zieht sich durch die Platte die Beschreibung von Einzelschicksalen, die durch den Krieg geprägt worden sind. Auf dieser “World War Avenue” begegnet man all dem Grauen und Elend, zerstörten Existenzen, Chaos, Kindern, die ihr Lachen verloren haben.

Die Platte ist darüberhinaus eine kritische Stellungnahme zum Machtstreben von Rassismus und Religion und deren wüsten und fanatischen Anhängern, welches immer wieder zu Gewalt und Krieg führt.

Marc + Cyan Photo ar/gee gleim

Die musikalische Umsetzung zeigt wieder einmal, wie wichtig es ist, daß sich Text und Musik ergänzen, sich gegenseitig in Szene setzen. So erhalten die Songs teilweise Hymnencharakter, was durch den gezielt eingesetzten Frauengesang noch unterstrichen wird.

Dabei betreten The Eternal Afflict musikalisches Neuland, die Stücke sind flüssiger und abwechslungsreicher geworden und reichen vom typischen T.E.A.-Sound über futuristische Soundgefilde bis hin zur Elektro-Ballade.

Titel-Liste

  • Tranceworld
  • War Child
  • Third World War Avenue
  • Thank the Lord
  • Childhood
  • Jonathan
  • Song of Faith
  • Freedom
  • A Day in May
  • Sacred War Machine
  • Fractured Mirror

The Eternal Afflict   Auswahl: Künstler


Veröffentlichungen:

  Top