The Sweet Life

Veljanov:

 The Sweet Life

Studio album

If the romantic beats the cynic, then an album like “The Sweet Life” must come out. An album with bittersweet truths about life and the rediscovery of lost dreams.

An album full of lust, love and passion. And an album that is above all one thing: absolutely container-free. “Since my musical taste is very broad, I want to surprise and convince with versatility,” says Alexander Veljanov. “I wanted to record a relaxed, positive album without drifting into superficiality or arbitrariness. That’s MY definition of pop.”

And it’s got it in it. Of majestic elegance, the eleven songs on The Sweet Life are dark, glamorous and seductive.


This record was released at MOTOR Music / UNIVERSAL in cooperation with Chrom Records.

Sonic Seducer

After the much acclaimed debut album "Secrets Of The Silver Tongue" from 1998, Alexander Veljanov's second solo work is about to be released. This time again, the man with the silver tongue and the unique timbre that goes with it, has dedicated himself to working through the many possibilities of emotional music. With the active participation of producer David Young (Bowie, Killing Joke, among others), eleven perfectly polished pieces were created. Characterized as a very own definition of pop, there is catchiness, paired with soft harmonies and outstanding vocal expressiveness. In different rhythms the songs glide on a steady flow of velvet. Even the use on the dance floors of the Republic and the heavy rotation in all music stations should be within reach. Especially the title track "The Sweet Life" presented in English and Macedonian has extreme hit potential and should appeal to both DEINE LAKAIEN fans and VIVA II viewers. With this potential, it is difficult to criticise, but quality comes at a price. As a listener you almost feel overwhelmed by so much perfection and are desperately looking for corners and edges. (Peter Heymann)

metalinside.de

The focus is clearly on the wonderful voice, which can perfectly reproduce every facet of his songs and never seems to reach any limits. With an on the one hand almost playful carefreeness in reciting the lyrics and juggling with his voice which he is able to provide on the other hand with such a melancholy that one has the feeling to sink into darkness, he captivates the listener and draws him into his spell with the known melodies, to which he has immediately processed here...

Zillo

First of all, "The Sweet Life" is worth a sin! As panther-like and seductive as Alexander Veljanov seems to jump at the viewer of the cover of his new solo album, the songs ultimately sound just as self-confident and powerful. Already the first song "Sweet Life" is a life-affirming, Mediterranean-looking track that whets the appetite for what the rousing beat of the song promises: a positive, relaxed and yet seriously hypnotically captivating album full of self-confident intensity. This self-confidence manifests itself in "Blag Zhivot", the Macedonian version of "Sweet Life". Experimentation is the key word for Veljanov's new solo album, because after the musically extensive and almost acoustic predecessor "Secrets Of The Silver Tongue", each song speaks a newly acquired desire for electronic sounds. Especially "Fly Away", the first single of the album shows the versatility of Veljanov's work: driving beat paired with his unmistakable voice, which on the one hand is so familiar and on the other hand, yet again in the bouquet of electronic, partly also consciously pop sounds, seems so inspiringly strange. While "Seraphim" or "Black Girl" are in the core usual melancholic-hypnotic songs, "Town By The River" or "In My Room" make the whole thing a stirring musical cocktail, which you should definitely try. Also noteworthy is "Das Lied Vom Einsamen Mädchen", a song that Marlene Dietrich has already sung and represented a great challenge for Alexander Veljanov. Conclusion: a multilingual, versatile album with a lot to talk about. (Nana Tamschick)

  One more thing…

Veljanov - "The Sweet Life" Studio album (2001)

ELJANOV - The Sweet Life (Photo Markus Rock)

Lean more

ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Cover: Dirk Rudolph, Photos: Markus Rock

Studio album
Released: 2001

Track list

  • The Sweet Life
  • Fly Away
  • Black Girl
  • The Wind
  • Seraphim
  • Town by the River
  • Longer Longer
  • In My Room
  • Das Lied vom einsamen Mädchen
  • Chains of Steel
  • Blag Zhivot
  Top

The Sweet Life

CD 2001


The Sweet Life

Studioalbum

Wenn der Romantiker den Zyniker besiegt, dann muß ein Album wie „The Sweet Life“ herauskommen. Ein Album mit bittersüßen Wahrheiten über das Leben und über die Wiederentdeckung verloren geglaubter Träume.

Ein Album voller Lust, Liebe und Leidenschaft. Und ein Album, das vor allem eins ist: absolut containerfrei. „Da mein Musikgeschmack sehr breit gefächert ist, möchte ich mit Vielseitigkeit überraschen -und überzeugen“, sagt Alexander Veljanov. „Ich wollte ein entspanntes, positives Album aufnehmen, ohne in Oberflächlichkeit oder Beliebigkeit abzudriften. Das ist MEINE Definition von Pop.“

Und die hat es in sich. Von einer majestätischen Eleganz sind die elf Songs auf The Sweet Life, dunkel, glamourös und verführerisch.


Dieser Tonträger erschien bei MOTOR Music / UNIVERSAL in Kooperation mit Chrom Records.

Nach dem vielbeachteten Debütalbum "Secrets Of The Silver Tongue" aus dem Jahre 1998 erscheint dieser Tage Alexander Veljanovs zweites Solo-Werk. Auch dieses Mal hat sich der Mann mit der silbernen Zunge und dem dazugehörigen einzigartigen Timbre der Aufarbeitung vielfältiger Möglichkeiten gefühlsbetonter Musik verschrieben. Unter der tatkräftigen Mitwirkung des Produzenten David Young (u.a. Bowie, Killing Joke) entstanden elf perfekt ausgefeilte Stücke. Als ganz eigene Definition von Pop charakterisiert, findet sich Eingängigkeit, gepaart mit weichen Harmonien und herausragender stimmlicher Ausdrucksstärke. In unterschiedlichster Rhytmik gleiten die Lieder auf einem steten Fluß aus Samt dahin. Selbst der Einsatz auf den Tanzflächen der Republik und die Heavy Rotation in sämtlichen Musiksendern dürften damit in greifbarer Reichweite sein. Besonders das in Englisch und Mazedonisch dargebotene Titelstück "The Sweet Life" besitzt extremes Hitpotential und dürfte sowohl Deine Lakaien Fans, als auch VIVA II Sehern gefallen. Bei diesem Potential fällt es schwer, Kritik zu üben, doch die Qualität hat ihren Preis. Beinahe fühlt man sich als Hörer durch soviel Perfektion überfordert und sucht verzweifelt nach Ecken und Kanten. (Peter Heymann)

Sonic Seducer

Im Mittelpunkt steht ganz klar die herrliche Stimme, die jede Facette seiner Lieder perfekt abbilden kann und niemals auch nur in Ansätzen an Grenzen zu kommen scheint. Mit einer auf der einen Seite fast spielerisch anmutenden Unbekümmertheit beim rezitieren der Texte und jonglieren mit seiner Stimme die er auf der anderen Seite mit einer solchen Melancholie auszustatten vermag, dass man das Gefühl hat in Dunkelheit zu versinken, fesselt er den Hörer und zieht ihn bei den bekannten Melodien, dir er hier verarbeitet hat sofort in seinen Bann…

metalinside.de

Eins zu­al­ler­erst: "The Sweet Life" ist eine Sünde wert! So pantherartig-verführerisch wie Alexander Veljanov den Betrachter des Covers seiner neuen Soloscheibe anzuspringen scheint, genauso selbstbewusst und kraftvoll hören sich die Songs letztendlich auch an. Schon der ersten Song "Sweet Life" ist ein lebensbejahender, südländisch wirkender Track, der Appetit auf das macht, was der mitreißende Beat des Songs verspricht: ein positives, entspanntes und dennoch ernsthaft hypnotisch-fesselndes Album voll selbstbewusster Intensität. Dieses Selbstbewußtsein manifestiert sich u.a. in "Blag Zhivot", der mazidonischsprachigen Version von "Sweet Life". Experimentierfreude ist dann auch das zentrale Schlüsselwort für Veljanovs neue Soloscheibe, denn nach dem musikalisch weitflächigen und nahezu akustischen Vorgänger "Secrets Of The Silver Tongue", spricht aus jedem Song eine neugewonnene Lust an elektronischen Klängen. Besonders "Fly Away", die erste Single des Albums zeigt die Vielseitigkeit des Veljanov'schen Schaffens auf: treibender Beat gepaart mit seiner unverwechselbaren Stimme, die einerseits so vertraut und dann doch wieder im Bouquet der elektronischen, teilweise auch bewusst poppigen Klänge, so inspirierend fremdartig wirkt. Während "Seraphim" oder "Black Girl" im Kern gewohnt melancholisch-hypnotische Songs sind, so machen "Town By The River" oder "In My Room" das Ganze zu einem aufwühlenden Musikcocktail, den man sich unbedingt zu Gemüte führen sollte. Ebenfalls beachtenswert ist "Das Lied Vom Einsamen Mädchen", einem Song, den bereits Marlene Dietrich gesungen hat und für Alexander Veljanov eine große Herausforderung darstellte. Fazit: ein vielsprachiges, vielseitiges und vieles zur Sprache bringendes Album. (Nana Tamschick)

Zillo

  Ach ja, noch was…

Veljanov - "The Sweet Life" Studioalbum (2001)

ELJANOV - The Sweet Life (Photo Markus Rock)

Titel-Liste

  • The Sweet Life
  • Fly Away
  • Black Girl
  • The Wind
  • Seraphim
  • Town by the River
  • Longer Longer
  • In My Room
  • Das Lied vom einsamen Mädchen
  • Chains of Steel
  • Blag Zhivot

Mehr erfahren

Externer Link


ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Cover: Dirk Rudolph, Photos: Markus Rock
  Top