Maxi Single – Distain!


Maxi Single

Four years after the release of the remix-e.p. “Tears of Joy” (1999) !distain are back with “America”. The 5-track single will be presented with a new band line-up: Original member and singer Alexander Brown will be accompanied by Manfred Thomaser now, since Oliver Faig and Sebastian von Wyschetzki left the band some years ago.

The “America” single includes three versions of the title track. And the exclusive song “Are you independent?” as well as a cover version.

Distain 2004

!distain are now (left to right):
Manfred Thomaser (new) and Alexander Braun.

This is the just released 2003 single from Distain!, "America". While I was initially a little wary of the single after some of the anti-American sentiment that some have been expressing in other countries as of late, the song wasn't nearly as objectionable as I was afraid it might be. More than anything, it just seems to be questioning the direction America is taking... The track shows some EBM influences in the percussion, but it's still a very synthpop-friendly tune. I like it! ... Overall, it's a good single, and It's nice to know that the lineup changes in the band haven't negatively effected the quality of the music. A single worth checking out!

Maxi Single
Released: 2003

Track list

  • America (radio edit)
  • Nights in white satin
  • Are you independent?
  • America (texas mix)
  • America (memphis mix)
ADDITIONAL CREDITS • Artwork: Joerg Grosse Geldermann